Quick Links



    Assam polls: Prafulla Kumar Mahanta files papers

    Guwahati: Former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) president Chandra Mohan Patowary were among the 205 candidates who filed nomination for the second phase of Assam assembly election on Thursday, the penultimate day for filing of papers.

    According to additional chief electoral officer M C Sahu, 205 candidates have filed their nomination today for the second phase which goes to the poll on April 11.

    March 26 will the date for scrutiny. Mahanta, leader of the opposition and AGP leader filed nomination in both the Bahrampur and Samuguri assembly constituencies.

    Patowary has put in his papers for the Dharmapur seat.