Quick Links



    Narine wins ICC Emerging Player Award

    Colombo: West Indies' offspinner Sunil Narine on Saturday has been named as the Emerging Player of the Year for 2012 at the ICC Awards ceremony in Colombo. He beat the competetion from the likes of New Zealand's Doug Bracewell, Sri Lanka's Dinesh Chandimal and Australia's James Pattinson to win the prestigious award.The 24-year-old from Trinidad, follows in the footsteps of last year’s winner and fellow West Indies bowler, Devendra Bishoo, in claiming the award. The offspinner played in three Tests for the West Indies claiming 12 wickets at an average 31.50, while in the 15 ODIs he played in he claimed 28 wickets at an average of 18.82. Narine was the top choice of the 32-person voting academy, coming out ahead of Chandimal, Bracewell and Pattinson. Meanwhile, New Zealand's Daniel Vettori won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2012. During New Zealand’s first Test against Zimbabwe in November 2011 in Bulwayo, Zimbabwe required 64 runs with five wickets in hand to win the Test. Regis Chakabva played a ball from the New Zealand spinner to mid-on, however, during his follow through Vettori proceeded to get in the way of Malcolm Waller, at the non-striker’s end, preventing the Zimbabwean from running. Vettori immediately held up his hand to the wicketkeeper, Reece Young, to indicate there had been a collision, accidentally which hindered the non-striker. As this happened, Chakabva by this point was too far down the wicket to get back to his crease in time, the bails are whipped off at the striker’s end but New Zealand elected not to appeal because of Vettori’s admittance to blocking Waller’s path. Ireland's George Dockrell has become the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year. The voting academy chose Dockrell ahead of other top Associate and Affiliate players including his team-mates on the short-list Kevin O’Brien, Ed Joyce and Paul Stirling as well as Afghanistan’s Dawlat Zadran. It is the first time Dockrell, who recently captained Ireland at the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup, has claimed the award. During the 12-month voting period, spinner Dockrell was the leading Associate and Affiliate wicket-taker with 43 scalps in all formats under observation (T20I, ODI and Intercontinental Cup), 22 of his wickets came in the Intercontinental Cup, the ICC's four-day competition for the top eight Associate and Affiliate Members. The left-arm spinner, who plays county cricket for English side Somerset and is in Sri Lanka as part of Ireland’s Twenty20 squad for the ICC World Twenty20, claimed 14 T20I wickets in the year, the most by any player in the window under observation, including Full Members, Associates and Affiliates with T20I status. Elsewhere South Africa's Richard Levi has won the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year in recognition of his 51-ball 117 not out against New Zealand. On 19 February 2012, during the Proteas’ Twenty20 International match against New Zealand in Hamilton, Levi on his debut tour for South Africa smashed his way to 117 not out with a swashbuckling innings that included five fours and 13 sixes. Levi took just 45 balls to reach his century, making him the current record holder for the fastest century in T20I cricket, ahead of former holder Chris Gayle who managed the feat in 50 balls. In women's cricket England’s Sarah Taylor has been named ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year. During the voting period Taylor played ten T20 Internationals scoring 340 runs at the top of the order at an average of 48.57, while the wicketkeeper also claimed 11 dismissals, including seven stumpings. The 23-year-old took the accolade ahead of West Indies Stafanie Taylor and Australia’s Alyssa Healy and Lisa Sthalekar. Taylor was unable to collect her accolade due to preparations in England for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012.West Indies Stafanie Taylor was named the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year. The young Jamaican took the accolade ahead of fellow West Indies team-mate Anisa Mohammed, England’s Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor. During the course. Taylor played in thirteen ODIs for the West Indies scoring 514 runs at the top of the order at average of 46.72, while the offspinner also claimed 16 wickets at an average of 13.12.