Quick Links



    Jury announced for DSC S Asian Literature prize

    New Delhi: The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature announced the jury for its 2012 edition on Thursday. The five-member panel includes Dr Alastair Niven, Dr Fakrul Alam, Faiza S Khan, Ira Pande (Chair) and Marie Brenner. The call for entries is currently open till May 15, 2011 and submissions can be made through their website, www.dscprize.com.The jury will arrive at a Longlist by September this year followed by the Shortlist (5-6 titles) in October and eventually the winner of the US $50,000 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2012 in January 2012. Speaking on the occasion, Ira Pande, Chair of the jury said, “I am delighted and honoured to be part of an effort to showcase South Asia whose rich literature draws on several languages and cultures. I am sure that this handsome award will encourage translations that will unveil this extraordinary treasury of imagination to the world outside it.”The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature is guided by an international Advisory Committee comprising M J Akbar, Urvashi Butalia, Tina Brown, William Dalrymple, Lord Meghnad Desai, David Godwin, Surina Narula, Senath Walter Perera, Nayantara Sehgal and Michael Worton. The DSC Prize is open to any author belonging to any part of the globe as long as the work is based on the South Asian region, its culture and its people.The first DSC Prize for South Asian Literature was awarded to H M Naqvi for his debut novel 'Home Boy' in January 2011.