Quick Links



    Pakistan look for fresh start in T20s against South Africa

    Dubai: Pakistan will look to put the disappointment of the ODI series loss behind when they face South Africa in the two-match Twenty20 series on Wednesday.

    Pakistan were thoroughly outplayed in the five-match ODI series that ended in Sharjah on Monday, with South Africa winning it with a 4-1 margin.

    Pakistan's T20 captain Mohammad Hafeez said the team is disappointed for their ODI loss but they will have to put that behind as they will be competing in a different format.

    "We are disappointed at the one-day series loss but we have to put that behind us, it's a new format and some new players have boosted our strength so we will definitely get better results," Hafeez was quoted as saying.

    While Pakistan are strengthened by the arrival of allrounders Abdul Razzaq and Shoaib Malik, South Africa too have called up T20 specialists Henry Davids, David Wiese and Aaron Phangiso. Also, pace spearhead Dale Steyn, who hasn't played a T20 since December last year, will be a part of their squad.

    Pakistan also have a chance to leapfrog Sri Lanka to become No. 1 team in T20s and Hafeez said his side are eager to win both matches to achieve that.

    "Of course it will be a big thing if we attain the number one ranking but for us it is more important to win Wednesday's game and then think for the second," said the 33-year-old Hafeez.

    South Africa T20 captain Faf du Plessis also said his team has momentum that will help in the upcoming matches. "I think it's nice to go into the series with a momentum and the confidence is there although it's a different format and slightly different team but we look forward to it," Du Plessis said.


    Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Abdul Razzaq, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Malik, Abdur Rehman.

    South Africa: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, David Wiese