Quick Links



    Pakistan look to continue winning momentum in SA ODIs

    After squaring off the two-match Twenty20 series, South Africa and Pakistan will once again face each other in the three-match one day international series, starting in Cape Town on Sunday.

    South Africa's team is bolstered by the return of experienced allrounder Jacques Kallis, who hasn't played an ODI in 18 months. Kallis, who has represented South Africa in 321 ODIs, played his last 50-over game against New Zealand in February, 2012.

    South Africa have also decided to include just one specialist spinner in the form of leggie Imran Tahir and released left-arm spinner Robin Petersen to play domestic matches. While the hosts' batting will rely majorly on Kallis and skipper AB de Villiers, their bowling will be spearheaded by pacer Dale Steyn. Ryan McLaren and Wayne Parnell will fill allrounders' spot in the side.

    Pakistan finally snapped their six-match losing streak against South Africa, having won the second T20 at the same venue on Friday. The visitors would be buoyed by the innings of Mohammad Hafeez and Umar Akmal, who scored good half-centuries on Friday.

    Spin is Pakistan's main strength and they will want to continue troubling the Proteas with the trio of Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal and Hafeez. They lack the sting in the pace department due to the absence of Mohammad Irfan and injuries to key allrounders - Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq - have made things worse for them.

    It won't be easy for Pakistan to challenge the hosts in the ensuing series and injuries to their key players mean their job becomes even more difficult. They will heavily rely on their much-underrated skipper Misbah-ul-Haq, who has turned out to be their saviour on quite a few occasions in the recent past.


    South Africa: South Africa squad: AB de Villiers (Capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, Imran Tahir Jacques Kallis, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

    Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (Capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi, Abdur Rehman, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Junaid Khan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Maqsood, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal (wk), Umar Amin