Quick Links



    Pietersen included in Eng squad for India tour

    New Delhi: The ECB on Thursday announced that Kevin Pietersen has been added to the England's Test squad for the forthcoming India tour in November.

    ECB national elector Geoff Miller added: "We are pleased to welcome a player of Kevin's proven international calibre back into the Test squad for such an important series. Kevin will join up with the squad as soon as his Champions League commitments are complete."

    The decision was made after Pietersen met with Andy Flower, Alastair Cook and a number of other senior players and members of England team management earlier this week.

    ECB Managing Director - England Cricket, Hugh Morris said: "We were keen that Kevin should hold a series of face-to-face meetings with team management and senior players before the Test squad departs for the UAE and India next week.

    "The meetings were constructive and cordial and all outstanding issues have been resolved. All the England players and management are now keen to draw a line under this matter and fully focus on the cricketing challenge that lies ahead in India."

    Reacting to the news of his selection for the India Test tour, Pietersen tweeted: "BOOOOOOOOM!! The happiest days of my career have been playing cricket for ENG. Long may that continue! Thanks everyone for your kind words."

    Pietersen was not initially among the 16 players named by the ECB last month for the India series following the bitter text message scandal involving his England team-mates.

    Pietersen was in the soup after revelation that he sent text messages to members of the South African touring squad containing derogatory remarks about then England captain Andrew Strauss. He was subsequently dropped for the final Test against South Africa after blasting a sparkling 149 in the second Test at Headingley.

    After that he was not not handed a central contract by the ECB and also left out of the England squad of the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka despite making himself available for all forms of cricket.

    England squad: Alastair Cook (capt), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Nick Compton, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Monty Panesar, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott