Pune to make its ODI debut in India-Australia series

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: July 3, 2013, 12:35 PM IST
Pune to make its ODI debut in India-Australia series

New Delhi: The Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune will make its one-day international (ODI) debut during Australia's limited-overs tour of India in October-November this year, which will include a seven-match ODI series preceded by a solitary Twenty20 international.

Pune made its international debut in December 2012 when it hosted the only Twenty20 international between India and England. It was also the home ground of former Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Sahara Pune Warriors, which has recently withdrawn from the IPL.

Also, MS Dhoni's home ground in Ranchi, the Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium, gets to host the fourth ODI of the series on October 23. The stadium on the southwest outskirts of the city made its ODI and IPL debut earlier this year.

Another recent stadium to become an international venue, the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot hosts the only Twenty20 international, which kicks off the tour on October 10. Incidentally Rajkot, like Ranchi, too made its ODI debut during England's tour in January earlier this year.

The match-schedule is as follows:

October 10 - T20 International, Rajkot
October 13 - 1st ODI, Pune
October 16 - 2nd ODI, Jaipur
October 19 - 3rd ODI, Mohali
October 23 - 4th ODI, Ranchi
October 26 - 5th ODI, Cuttack
October 30 - 6th ODI, Nagpur
November 7 - 7th ODI, Bengaluru

First Published: July 3, 2013, 12:35 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking