Quick Links



    Ramdin recalled to Windies Test squad

    St John's (Antigua): Wicketkeeper-batsman Denesh Ramdin and off-spinner Shane Shillingford have been recalled to the West Indies Test squad for their tour of Bangladesh next month.

    The 15-member squad, to play two Tests in the Asian country, also includes rookie openers Kraigg Brathwaite and Kieran Powell.

    But Chris Gayle remains an outcast, Ramnaresh Sarwan sidelined with an injury, and Dwayne Bravo overlooked.

    The 26-year-old Ramdin has not played for West Indies for over a year after being axed for poor form. He was also ignored for a retainer contract.

    Since his axing, the duties behind the stumps have been shared by Carlton Baugh Jr, who will make the trip to Bangladesh, and rookie Devon Thomas.

    Shillingford was cleared in May by the ICC to resume bowling at international level after undergoing remedial work on an illegal action.

    He had been reported for a suspect action after the first Test in Sri Lanka in November 2010, when the umpires report cited concern over the straightening of his arm when he delivered some deliveries.

    Since his return, he has played with Pickwick in Barbados club championship, where he showed he has lost little of his control or guile in between the dodgy weather that has prevailed.

    He took 12 wickets - including two five-wicket hauls - at 13.50 apiece from 62 overs in four Division 1 league matches, and eight wickets - including one half of five - at 11.38 in three Super Cup one-day fixtures.

    Brathwaite and Powell each had a Test during this year's home international series against Pakistan and India respectively.

    Though neither did anything special, they remain two of the brightest prospects for the opening positions in the region, and have been given the chance to find their feet against slightly less challenging opposition alongside Adrian Barath.

    The West Indies Cricket Board in making the team announcement said that the outstanding matter relating to Gayle's availability and selection remained unresolved.

    "The WICB Management will submit a report to the Board of Directors after which a conclusive statement will be made," said the media release.

    The Chowdhury Stadium in the port city of Chittagong will host the first Test from October 21 to 25, and the tour ends in Mirpur, where the second and final Test will take place at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium from October 29 to November 2.


    Darren Sammy (captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh Jr, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford