Quick Links



    Ranji Group B, Round 1, Day 2: Haryana, Karnataka eye lead

    Lahli: Trailing by 150 in the first innings, Haryana made a spirited fight in their second innings on Saturday but Umesh Yadav hit back to keep Vidharba in control. From being bowled four a record-low 55 in the first innings, last-year’s semi-finalists made an improvement with an opening stand of 80 before Yadav extracted Rahul Dewan (31) and Sunny Singh (5) in a late burst. At stumps, Haryana were 47 runs in arrears of Vidharba’s 205 with seven wickets in hand. In the morning, Vidharba took a sizeable lead though no batsman scored a fifty. Shrikant Wagh’s 44 from the No. 9 spot was the highest score of the innings and he was last out having put on 48 for the eighth wicket with Sairaj Bahutule and taking the score forward once the skipper was dismissed for 21 in the 73rd over. Mohit Sharma and Chanderpal Saini took three wickets each while Haryana captain Amit Mishra bowled just two overs due to injury. Needing to get 150 to prevent an innings defeat, Haryana began well the wicket of Nitin Saini (46) started the jitters. At 103 for 3 they will need something spectacular to prevent defeat. Haryana 55 and 1o3 for 3 (Nitin Saini 46) trail Vidharba 205 by 47 runs.The match 400 at the Moti Bagh Stadium in Vadodara was heading for a tight battle for the first-innings lead. In reply to Baroda’s 406, Karnataka were 148 for 2 with hopes pinned on Robin Uthappa, batting on 67. The visitors trail by 258 runs. Earlier in the day, a five-wicket haul for Stuart Binny ensured Baroda did not progress far beyond 400 after posting 308 on the first day for the loss of just four wickets. The home side lost their last six wickets for 98 runs with Binny removing the overnight centurions Aditya Waghmore (129) and Irfan Pathan (121) en route to his third career five-for. Slow left-arm spinner KP Appanna chipped in with two wickets to finish with 3 for 53. The 239-run stand between Waghmore and Irfan was the highest of Baroda’s total; the next best was 48. Karnataka replied with a 112-run stand from KB Pawan (56) and Uthappa, but suffered a setback when Gagandeep Singh took two wickets to check them at 126 for 2. Karnataka 148 for 2 (Robin Uthappa 67*, KB Pawan 56) trail Baroda 406 (Aditya Waghmore 129, Irfan Pathan 121; Stuart Binny 5/65) by 258 runsFor a report of the second day’s play in Ghaziabad where Mukul Dagar (116) and Mohammad Kaif (91) gave Uttar Pradesh a 57-run lead over Delhi, read Nitin Chouhan’s report here.There was no play possible in Cuttack, where play was called off at 11:45am with Tamil Nadu still 66 for 2.