Quick Links



    Ranji, Group B, Round 3: UP go top, Odisha win

    Chennai: Tamil Nadu drubbed Maharashtra by 104 runs on the fourth morning here on Tuesday. Maharashtra entered the final day almost out of the contest at 75 for 8 chasing a target of 193, and were dismissed for 88 inside ten overs.

    Akshay Darekar (3) and Samad Fallah (5) were the men dismissed by Malolan Rangarajan and Aushik Srinivas. Ankit Bawne scored six of the 13 runs that Maharashtra managed to score in 53 deliveries and remained not out. Rangarajan was adjudged the Man of the Match for his first-innings 53 and match figures of 33.3-10-89-7 in his third appearance for Tamil Nadu.

    The home team took six points from this win to tally eight in all, while Maharashtra remain at one point from two games.

    Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 276 and 149 beat Maharashtra 233 and 88 in 46.5 overs (Ankit Bawne 24*, Aushik Srinivas 3 for 15, M Rangarajan 3 for 34) by 104 runs

    Up north in Lahli, Odisha claimed their first outright win in the Ranji Trophy since 2008 with a four-wicket win over hosts Haryana.

    Odisha began the final day on 60 for 3 needing a further 88 runs to beat last year's semi-finalists and were rattled early in the morning. Chanderpal Saini bowled Abhilash Mallick for 3 in the third over, leaving Odisha 71 for 4 with 77 to get. The next wicket went down nine runs later when Mohit Sharma bowled wicketkeeper-batsman Halhadar Das for 7, but Govind Podder and Deepak Behera forged a 43-run stand to steady the innings. Podder reached an invaluable half-century before he was dismissed for 51 by Sachin Rana. Behera (35*) and Lagnajit Samal (12*) scored the remaining 28 runs needed to seal a hard-fought win that moved Odisha up to second place with seven points. Their last win came on November 26, 2008 at Bhubaneshwar when Punjab were beaten by nine wickets.

    Few would have given Haryana much of a chance of taking this match into the final day, but despite their battling effort in the field last year's semi-finalists have yet to manage a single point in two outings.

    Brief Scores: Odisha 219 and 152 for 6 in 62.1 overs (Govind Podder 51, Deepak Behera 35*) beat Haryana 66 and 300 by four wickets

    The match between Delhi and Baroda ended in a tame draw, and both teams fetched a point each since two innings weren't completed.

    Delhi were 505 for 6 in their first innings at the end of day four, riding on centuries from Rajat Bhatia and Mithun Manhas. Baroda had amassed 561 in their first innings after they were put to bat by Delhi. Skipper Ambati Raydu and Abhimanyu Chauhan struck centuries for them.

    Brief Scores: Baroda 561 (Raydu 131, Chauhan 113; Awana 4 for 104) drew with Delhi 505 for 6 (Bhatia 133*, Manhas 106)

    Meerut: Karnataka fought hard to wangle a draw against Uttar Pradesh on Tuesday. UP declared their second innings on their overnight score of 343 for 5 and Karnataka needed 446 in their second innings runs to win the contest on day four of the match.

    Ganesh Satish and Manish Pandey stitched a partnership of 122 runs for the third wicket after Karnataka lost their openers early. Wickets tumbled quickly after Pandey was run out for 76 and Karnataka were reduced to 249 for 8 with 10 overs remaining in the day. Muralidharen Gautam and KP Appanna safely played out the remaining overs as Karnataka were 274 for 8 when day was called.

    Bhuvneshwar Kumar put up a resounding all-round performance to give his team an upper hand, His five-wicket haul shot Karnataka out for 181 in their first innings after Uttar Pradesh made 283, riding on Mohammad Kaif's 122, batting first. B Kumar chiselled four wickets in the second innings was well to finish with match haul of nine wickets. He also came good with bat and cracked 91 in UP's second innings. UP have accumulated 10 points from three matches and leading the pack in Group B. Karnataka have five points in their kitty from three matches.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 283 and 343 for 5 (Parvinder Singh 143, B Kumar 91) drew with Karnataka 181 and 274 for 8 (Manish Pandey 76; B Kumar 4 for 67)