Ranji Trophy, Group A: Karnataka beat Delhi; Mumbai defeat Gujarat to enter quarter-finals

Updated: January 2, 2014, 2:17 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group A: Karnataka beat Delhi; Mumbai defeat Gujarat to enter quarter-finals

New Delhi: Karnataka dispatched Delhi by eight wickets at the Ferozeshah Kotla here on Thursday to comfortably top the Ranji Trophy Group A.

Delhi, starting day four at 132 for 6, were bowled out for 201 in their second innings, giving their bowlers a meagre 115 to defend. Karnataka ensured there were no hiccups in the chase, getting past the paltry target in 28.1 overs.

Opener Mayank Agarwal remained unbeaten on 68 off 96 balls alongside Manish Pandey (11 off 3). Karnataka, who had qualified for the quarter-finals prior to the game, topped Group A with 38 points from eight games.

With the loss, Delhi failed to make the knock-out stage for another season ending with 19 points from eight matches. They have not had much success in the premier domestic tournament after winning the title in the 2007-08 season.

The Kotla pitch is known for its low-slow nature but unpredicatable bounce on the final day made the batting even more trickier.

Varun Sood (0) and Sumit Narwal (21) fell victim to the unpredictable bounce, leaving Delhi tottering at 176 for 8. Milind Kumar (31 not out) provided some resistance and took the team past the 200-mark. Karnataka pacers HS Sharath and Ronit More shared three wickets apiece with leggie Shreyas Gopal.

In Valsad, The spin duo of Iqbal Abdulla and Vishal Dabholkar shared nine wickets between them as Mumbai registered a 27-run victory over Gujarat to sail into the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals. Mumbai thus, with 29 points became the third team from Group A to join table toppers Karnataka (38) and Punjab (30) in the knockout round.

40-time champions Mumbai, who conceded a lead in the first innings, recovered amazingly to bowl out Gujarat for 147 in 56 overs on the final day at Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium. Left-arm spinner Vishal Dabholkar picked four for 33 besides Abdullah's all-round performance.

Starting the day at 67 for three, overnight batsmen Askhar Patel and Bhargav Merai took Gujarat to 104 without any further loss. But then Dabholkar got the breakthrough by claiming the wicket of Merai (36), and when Patel was bowled by Suryakumar Yadav for 65 Mumbai got the sniff of a victory.

Gujarat's last six wickets fell for just 12 runs in 11.2 overs as Abdullah and Dabholkar polished off the tail. Abdullah ended the second innings with bowling figures of five for 44 in addition to his 6/42 in the first innings. He also scored 68 runs (30 in the first innings and 38 in the second) in the low-scoring match.

While Patel hit 10 fours in his 99-ball knock, Merai had four boundaries in their 76-run stand for the fourth wicket.

Brief Scores: Mumbai: 154 & 273. Gujarat: 253 & 147 all out in 56 overs (Askhar Patel 65, Bhargav Merai 36; Iqbal Abdulla 5/44). Points Mumbai 6, Gujarat 0.

In Bhubaneswar, The Group A Ranji Trophy match between Haryana and Odisha ended in a tame draw on the fifth and final day here today with the visitors saving themselves from relegation.

The visitors had already ensured themselves another season in the top tier of Ranji Trophy yesterday by securing a first-innings lead of 384, and with Jharkhand losing heavily to Punjab, the final day was a mere formality for both teams. Odisha, who began at 33 for no loss, were buoyed by a 120-run partnership for the second wicket between Govind Podder and Niranjan Behera, who scored 79 and 64 respectively.

Odisha lost quick wickets following Niranjan's dismissal in the 54th over, but the result of the game was never really in question. Joginder Sharma and Jayant Yadav picked up two wickets each, as Odisha ended on 228 for 6 in 97 overs.

Odisha finished sixth in Group A with 12 points while Haryana ended at eighth in the nine-team table with 10 points. Both the teams have failed to make it to the quarterfinals.

Brief Scores: Odisha: 242 and 228 for 6 in 97 overs (Govind Podder 79, Niranjan Behera 64).
Haryana: 626 for 4 dec (Rahul Dewan 273, Sachin Rana 157, Nitin Saini 102 not out).

First Published: January 2, 2014, 2:17 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking