Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy Group A, Round 6, Day 1: Mandeep puts Punjab on top

    Mumbai: Punjab riding on Mandeep Singh's unbeaten century reached 295 for 4 at stumps on day one against Mumbai at the Wankhede Stadium here on Saturday.

    Mumbai skipper, Ajit Agarkar won the toss and opted to field, but the visitors showed resilience and at the end of day's play managed to put up a decent total on the board. However, youngster Mandeep (102) played a breezy knock which included 14 fours and one six. For Mumbai, Agarkar and Dhaval Kulkarni claimed two wickets each.

    Brief scores: Punjab 295 for 4 (Mandeep Singh 102*, Ravinder Singh 79, Ajit Agarkar 2 for 54, Dhaval Kulkarni 2 for 63) vs Mumbai

    In Ahmedabad, Rajasthan's decision of batting first backfired, as they were 182 for 5 at the end of first day's play against Gujarat. The visiting team kept losing wickets at regular intervals and at one point was struggling at 92 for 4. Skipper Hrishikesh Kanitkar and Dishant Yagnik were at the crease, while for Gujarat Rakesh Dhruv claimed three wickets.

    Brief scores: Rajasthan 182 for 5 (Sourabh Chouhan 42, Hrishikesh Kanitkar 45*, Rakesh Dhruv 3 for 47) vs Gujarat

    While in Rajkot, Saurashtra were bundled out for 209 after electing to bat against Bengal on day one of their Ranji match. Except Ravindra Jadeja's valiant 70, no other Saurashtra batsmen could stand against the bowling of Bengal, especially of Iresh Saxena - who returned with figures of 5 for 17. Bengal were 7 for no loss at stumps.

    Brief scores: Saurashtra 209 (Ravindra Jadeja 70, Shitanshu Kotak 40, Iresh Saxena 5 for 17) vs Bengal 7 for 0.

    In Bhubaneswar, Rameez Khan's unbeaten 82 powered Madhya Pradesh to 212 for 5 at stumps on day one against Railways. After electing to field, Railways picked up two quick wickets in the form of MP openers, but after that the batsmen held on to their task. Krishnakant Upadhyay claimed two wickets, while Hardik Rathod and Sanjay Bangar chipped in with a wicket each.

    Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 212 for 5 (Rameez Khan 82*, Udit Birla 42, K Upadhyay 2 for 36) vs Railways