Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy Group A, Round 7: 18 wickets tumble in Bengal-Hyderabad tie on Day 1

    Kolkata: Bengal batsmen surrendered the initiative given by their seamers on a greentop Eden wicket to find themselves at sea in their own backyard as 18 wickets fell in the group A league match against Hyderabad on Saturday.

    Put in, Hyderabad's first innings lasted for two hours and 28 minutes to be skittled out for 115 with Mohammad Shami Ahmed claiming 4 for 36.

    In reply, Bengal were no different as they crumbled to the fury of pacer Ashish Reddy (5 for 30) and left-arm pacer Anwar Ahmed (3 for 30) to be tottering for 79 for 8 at stumps on the first day, still trailing Hyderabad by 36 runs.

    Resuming the final session at 37 for one, Bengal collapse began soon after as they lost seven wickets in 15.5 overs.

    Opener Arindam Das waged a lone battle as he was at the crease with a dogged 37 not out (100 balls) while Shami was unbeaten on zero, as Bengal were in danger of being bundled out inside 100.

    Brief scores: Hyderabad 115 all out (K Sumath 25; Shami Ahmed 4 for 36, Veerpratap Singh 3 for31); Bengal 79 for 8 (Arindam Das 37 not out; Ashish Reddy 5 for 30)

    Mumbai vs Saurashtra:

    In Rajkot, riding on an unbeaten century by Aditya Tare, Mumbai reached a massive 306 for two against Saurashtra at the end of the first day's play of their Ranji Trophy Group A match here on Saturday. At stumps, Tare was not out on 122 and giving him company at the other end was Rohit Sharma on 72.

    Electing to bat, Mumbai got off to a fabulous start with opening partnership between Wasim Jaffer and Tare yielding 135 runs. Jaffer was the first one to depart when Saurya Sanandiya provided Saurashtra the breakthrough. He scored a fine 79 off 116 balls, studded with 11 fours and a six.

    When stumps were drawn, Tare had already spent 369 minutes in the middle, facing 262 balls, and hit 18 boundaries and a six. While Rohit Sharma scored an unbeaten 72 off 110 balls, laced with seven fours and three sixes.

    Brief scores: Mumbai: 306 for two in 90 overs (Aditya Tare 122, Wasim Jaffer 79, Rohit Sharma batting 72; Saurya Sanandiya 1 for 56).

    Madhya Pradesh vs Punjab:

    In Gwalior, skipper Devendra Bundela scored an unbeaten 92 while opener Jalaj Saxena struck a fluent half-century to help Madhya Pradesh post 281 for five against Punjab on the first day of their Ranji Trophy Group A match.

    Electing to field after winning the toss, medium pacer Sandeep Sharma proved his captain's decision right when he had wicketkeeper Naman Ojha trapped in front of the stumps for two. Jalaj struck 16 fours in his 109-ball stay at the crease.

    For Punjab, Sandeep finished with an impressive figure of three for 78 while Baltej picked up two for 47. Indian middle-order batsman, Yuvraj Singh, who was dropped from the national squad for the final Test against England, bowled three overs conceding 11 runs.

    Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 1st innings: 281 for five in 88 overs (Devendra Bundela 92 not out, Jalaj Saxena 84; Sandeep Sharma 3 for 78).

    Railways vs Rajasthan

    In Bhubaneswar, left-handed opener Shivakant Shukla scored the fifth first-class century of his career as Railways reached 239 for four at stumps against Rajasthan on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy group league encounter.

    Shivakant batted for more than six hours to score a patient 109 off 250 balls with 14 boundaries and a six. He added 146 runs for the fourth wicket with Parag Madkaikar who is batting on 70.

    Opting to bat at the Railways ground, Shivakant and other opener Amit Paunikar (31) added 55 runs for the opening stand before slow medium pacer Sumit Mathur got the latter caught by Saurabh Chouhan. Vairamudi Cheleuvuraj and skipper Sanjay Bangar were dismissed in quick succession as Railway were reduced to 90 for three.

    Shivakant and Parag then steadied the ship with their partnership that lasted for more than 50 overs. Left-arm seamer Aniket Choudhary took two for 42.

    Brief Scores: Railways 239 for 4 in 86 overs (Shivakant Shukla 109, Parag Madkaikar 70 batting, Aniket Choudhary 2 for 42).

    (With inputs from Agencies)