Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group A, Round 9, Day 4: Saurashtra enter knockout stage

    Rajkot: Riding on a splendid bowling by debutant seamer Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Saurashtra beat Madhya Pradesh by 227 runs on the fourth and final day of their Ranji Trophy Group A match and entered into the quarter-finals.Playing his first Ranji Trophy, Jadeja scalped six wickets in Madhya Pradesh's second innings giving away 51 runs off 26.4 overs and was well supported by offspinner Kamlesh Makvana, who finished with 3 for 43.After scoring 242 in the first innings, Saurashtra restricted MP to 135. In the second essay, the hosts declared at 303 for four to set MP a target of 411, but the visitors were bowled out for 183. Resuming at 89 for 2, MP could add only 94 more runs before getting all out in 68.4 overs. Jalaj Saxena (75) and Rameez Khan (31) were the only batsmen for Madhya Pradesh, who resisted Jadeja-Makvana duo.Saxena and Khan added 85 runs for the third wicket and at that stage it looked as if MP would save the match but once Khan was bowled out by Jadeja, rest of the batsmen surrendered against the pace-spin duo. The match was crucial for both the sides to enter into knockout rounds where MP needed only three points, while an outright win was required for the hosts.Brief scores: Saurashtra: 242 & 303 for 4 decl, MP: 135 & 183 all out (Jalaj Saxena 75, Rameez Khan 31; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 6 for 51, Kamlesh Makvana 3 for 43).Bengal vs Railways:In Kolkata, hosts Bengal suffered a 122-run humiliating defeat against Railways. Chasing a stiff 372, Bengal folded their innings at 249 as medium pacer Anureet Singh (4 for 46) and leg-spinner Karan Sharma (3 for 60) shared seven wickets between them in their concluding group A league.However, the win was not enough for the Railways (21 points) to make to the quarters as Saurashtra (23) made the cut after their 227-run thrashing of Madhya Pradesh. Resuming 13 for one, Bengal never showed any fight even as Sandipan Das (62), Debabrata Das (44) and Arindam Das (40) showed some resistance.Sandipan first tried to forge a partnership with Wriddhiman Saha but the stand-in skipper got out just after lunch becoming Sanjay Bangar's 300th first-class victim. Bengal were quickly reduced to 148 for five, but Sandipan and Debabrata tried to see through the day putting on a fine partnership.However, Sharma once again marred Bengal's recovery act dismissing Sandipan at the stroke of tea-break. Das was dismissed by Anureet Singh in the third over after the tea break to reduce Bengal to 215 for seven as Railways completed the formalities with more than an hour to go for the final day. Brief scores: Railways 214 and 314 decl; Bengal 157 and 249 (Sandipan Das 62, Debabrata Das 44 not out, Arindam Das 40; Anureet Singh 4 for 46, Karan Sharma 3 for 60). Railways won by 122 runs; Railways 6 pts, Bengal 0.Rajasthan vs Hyderabad: Read Navneet Mundhra’s match report here. Gujarat vs Mumbai: Mumbai are through to the knock out stages, despite a draw, after winning three points against Gujarat on the basis of their first innings lead. The hosts failed to register their second outright win of the season, as they were unable to chase the score of 135, after they had bundled out the opposition for 337.Their run chase started with a hiccup, as they soon lost opener Aditya Tare (7) caught behind off Kushang Patel with only 17 runs on board. Kaustubh Pawar and Hiken Shah ensured that there were no further casualties but the home side still needed 70 runs, when the play was called off before the beginning of the mandatory 14 overs.During the first session of the day, Juneja and debutant Chirag Gandhi batted well and shared a 97-run partnership to get past the Mumbai first innings lead of 203. Gandhi scored 64 runs and hit 13 fours before being trapped leg before by Abhishek Nayar.Brief scores: Gujarat: 244 and 337 (Manprit Juneja 98, Chirag Gandhi 64, Ankeet Chavan 4 for 124); Mumbai: 447 and 65 for 1 (Hiken Shah 42, Kushang Patel 1 for 18).(With inputs from agencies)