Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B: Baroda dismiss Services for 191 on Day 1

    Vadodara: India discards Munaf Patel and Yusuf Pathan shared seven wickets between them as Baroda dismissed Services for 191 in their first innings and then reached 62 for no loss at stumps on the opening day of their Group B Ranji Trophy match at Reliance Stadium.

    Seamer Patel (4 for 38) scalped four wickets, while offspinner Pathan (3 for 19) took three. Bhargav Bhatt (2 for 38) and Murtuja Vahora (1 for 49) too contributed with two and one wicket after Baroda decided to field.

    For Services, Yashpal Singh (58) and Soumya Swain (62) cracked twin half-centuries to help their team recover from an early slump.

    Brief score: Services 1st innings: 191 all out in 65 overs (Yashpal Singh 58, S Swain 62; Munaf Patel 4/38, Yusuf Pathan 3/19)

    Baroda 1st innings: 62 for no loss in 22 overs (DM Mistry 33; Koteswar Rao 0/12).

    RP Singh's bowling gives UP upperhand

    Kolkata: RP Singh took two wickets in a fine display of seam bowling at the fag end of the opening day after Uttar Pradesh recovered from 138 for 8 to 212 to take an upperhand against a depleted Bengal.

    Put into bat, Uttar Pradesh were left reeling at 82 for 4 at lunch but Prashant Gupta's 53 put them past century mark before Imtiaz Ahmed (36 from 44 balls; 6x4) and Ali Murtaza (33 from 40 balls; 6x4) counter-attacked in an entertaining 74-ball 60 for the ninth wicket to take them to a fighting total.

    Sourav Sarkar was the pick of Bengal bowlers with 4 for 51, while Ashok Dinda too was impressive, taking 3 for 75.

    In reply, Bengal were left tottering at 26 for two from 10 overs with the former India pacer R P Singh, in his bid to make a comeback, rattling the top order with searing pace and seam movements.

    Still 186 runs behind and with eight wickets in hand, it will be interesting to see how the inexperienced Bengal batting line-up rise to the pace challenge against the group B leaders.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 1st Innings 212; 70.1 overs (Prashant Gupta 53; Sourav Sarkar 4/51, Ashok Dinda 3/75).

    Bengal 1st Innings: 26/2.

    Jalaj, Ojha's centuries put MP on top

    Indore: Naman Ojha struck his second successive hundred while Jalaj Saxena scored an unbeaten 157 as Madhya Pradesh piled on 342 for 2 against Saurashtra on the opening day of their Group B Ranji Trophy match.

    Ojha's fourth century of the season and his 207-run partnership for the second wicket with Saxena put the hosts in a strong position at the Holkar Stadium.

    Ojha hit an attacking 231-ball 154 laced with 12 fours and eight towering sixes, while Saxena's unconquered 265-ball 157-knock was decorated with 21 fours and two sixes.

    Saurashtra bowler Abhishek Bhatt struck in the tenth over with the wicket of Satyam Choudhary (11). This brought together Jalaj and Ojha who feasted on the wayward Saurashtra attack on the good batting track almost till the end before Ojha was run out by Jaydev Unadkat in the penultimate over of the day.

    Jalaj's hundred was the seventh of his first-class career and Ojha scored his 13th to take Madhya Pradesh past 300.

    At stumps, Mohnish Mishra (6 batting) was giving company to Jalaj.

    Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 342 for two in 88 overs (Jalaj Saxena 157 batting, Naman Ojha 154; Abhishek Bhatt 1/54).

    Tamil Nadu 200 for 8 against Railways

    New Delhi: R Prasanna's unbeaten half-century took Tamil Nadu to 200 for eight after Railways bowlers Anureet Singh and Ranjitkumar Mali took three wickets each on the opening day of their Group B match.

    Mali was the only batsman to make significant contribution for the visitors with a gritty 206-ball 88 as none of the other batsmen showed enough patience to stay at the crease and grind it out.

    Tamil Nadu were left reeling at 49 for 4 after Mali took three of the first five wickets including the key scalps of Abhinav Mukund, S Badrinath and Dinesh Karthik. Prasanna revived the innings, first with Baba Aparajith, who scored 29 off 119, and then with Lakshmipathy Balaji (22 batting) for the eighth wicket.

    Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 200 for 8 in 89 overs (R Prasanna 88 batting; Ranjitkumar Mali 3/29, Anureet Singh 3/49).