Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B: Gupta takes four in UP's big win; TN earn three points

    Vadodara: Left-arm spinner Praveen Gupta bagged four wickets, including three in an over, as Uttar Pradesh cruised to a 182-run win over Baroda in their Group B Ranji Trophy match here Sunday. The 26-year-old spinner from Meerut ran through the Baroda lower-order as they fell short of the stiff 369-run target by some distance, giving the visitors six points for the victory.

    Pace spearhead R P Singh and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla picked two wickets before the hosts were bundled out for 186 in 64.3 overs. Ambati Rayudu was the only batsman to offer some resistance as he top-scored with 56 while hard-hitting all-rounder Yusuf Pathan blasted a 46-ball 49 with the help of nine fours and a six.

    Overnight five for two with both the openers gone, Baroda, barring the 82-run stand for the sixth wicket between Rayudu and Pathan, could not do much on the final day of the second round encounter.

    Earlier, on the third day yesterday, opener Tanmay Srivastava made an unbeaten century before spearhead R P struck twice at the fag end to put Uttar Pradesh in sight of an outright win. After UP declared their innings at 294 for six, senior pacer R P, who grabbed fours wickets in their first innings, once again made life difficult for the hosts dealing them two quick blows in the form of Saurabh Wakaskar and Aditya Waghmore.

    Brief scores:

    UP 302 and 294/6 decl

    Baroda 228 and 186 all out (Rayudu 56, Yusuf 49; Kumar 4/14).

    UP 6 points, Baroda 0.

    In another match at Indore, a strong batting performance by the middle-order after being forced to follow on helped Madhya Pradesh avoid defeat but Tamil Nadu walked away with three points due to their first innings lead.

    In reply to a mammoth 532 for eight declared, Madhya Pradesh were bowled out for 269 in their first innings and were 196 for three in their second essay when stumps were drawn on the fourth and final day at Holkar Cricket Stadium. Left-arm orthodox bowler, Aushik Srinivas grabbed four wickets in the first innings before claiming one in the MP's second essay to become the pick of the Tamil Nadu bowlers.

    Resuming on overnight total of 221 for seven, skipper Devendra Bundela, starting on 64, top-scored with 95 off 213 balls, laced with 13 fours and two sixes, to remain unbeaten till the end.

    Mohnish Mishra top-scored for the hosts with a 102-ball unbeaten 66, which included four boundaries and three sixes. Naman Ojha (46) and Rameez Khan (31 not out) were the other notable contributors for MP as they managed to grab a point from the match.

    Brief Scores:

    Tamil Nadu: 532 for eight declared

    Madhya Pradesh: 269 all out in 100.4 overs (Devendra Bundela not out 95, Naman Ojha 41; Aushik Srinivas 4/40) & 196 for three in 57 overs (Mohnish Mishra not out 66, Naman Ojha 46; Aswin Crist 1/28).

    Points: Tamil Nadu 3, Madhya Pradesh 1.

    In Delhi, Opener Bhushan Chauhan struck an unbeaten century to help Saurashtra draw their Group B Ranji Trophy match against Railways, who walked away with three points on the basis of their first innings lead.

    The visitors began the day at 54 for two and declared their second innings at 217 for three. It was a remarkable improvement in their batting as they were all out for just 165 in their first essay. Chauhan resumed his innings at 24 this morning and batted with determination for a well-made 106 and shared an unbeaten 150-run stand for the fourth wicket with Aarpit Vasvada, who scored 66.

    Their splendid batting ensured that Saurashtra do not suffer one more collapse and at least they take one point from the contest. While Chauhan faced 330 balls in his innings which had 10 fours and one shot over the fence, Vasvada's knock came off 204 balls with three boundaries.

    Set a target of 208 runs, Railways scored nine for no loss in 18 overs. Saurashtra lost one wicket today as Shledon Jackson (13) added 10 runs to his overnight total before being caught behind off Anureet Singh.

    Brief Scores:

    Saurashtra 165 and 217/3 declared in 115 overs. (Bhushan Chauhan 106 not out, Aarpit Vasvada 66 not out; Anureet Singh 2/36).

    Railways 175 & 9 for no loss in 18 overs.

    In another match at Jaipur, a handy first innings lead of 82 runs proved to be crucial as visitors Bengal walked away with three points against Rajasthan.

    It was a drab final day as Rajasthan declared after scoring 257 for five in 106 overs with Robin Bist contributing 75. Bengal were given a stiff target of 176 in 24 overs but the match was called off after the second mandatory over as visitors scored 25 for one.

    Starting the day at 62 for one, it was day of survival for the Rajasthan team as they lost experienced opener Vineet Saxena (35) having added 66 runs with Bist for the second wicket. Saxena edged one to Subhomoy Das in the slips off Shiv Shankar Paul's bowling.

    Ashok Menaria (17) nicked one from Laxmi Ratan Shukla to Wriddhiman Saha behind the stumps while Rajesh Bishnoi (7) was trapped leg before by off-spinner Sourashis Lahiri.

    At 130 for four, Rajasthan were just 48 runs ahead with only six wickets remaining. However Bist along with T20 specialist Dishant Yagnik (66 not out) added invaluable 60 runs for the fifth wicket but more importantly played out 23.3 overs which ended Bengal's hopes of an outright win.

    For Bengal, Wriddhiman Saha and Rohan Banerjee's good form, Lahiri's useful all-round show were the positives before they take on Madhya Pradesh in a home game from November 14.

    Brief Scores: Rajasthan 244 & 257/5 decl (Robin Bist 75, Dishant Yagnik 66, Sourashis Lahiri 2/49)

    Bengal 326 & 25/1. Match Drawn. Pts: Bengal 3, Rajasthan 1.