Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy: Group B, Round 4: Odisha, Baroda post outright victories

    Odisha beat Karnataka by 65 runs at Bangalore to gain their second outright victory in this season's Ranji Trophy to move to the top of the Group B's points table. Karnataka resumed from their overnight total of 43 for 1, chasing 245 for the victory and lost Ganesh Satish early. Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey also fell early and barring Stuart Binny, who made 42, no other bastmen could make any significant contribution. The hosts were bowled out for 179.

    Alok Chandra Sahoo was the pick of the bowlers for Odisha as he chalked up three wickets. Biplab Samantray, Deepak Behera and Basant Mohanty picked up two wickets each.

    Brief scores: Odisha 202 and 255 beat Karnataka 213 and 179 (Binny 42; Sahoo 3-27) by 65 runs

    In Rohtak, Baroda pipped Haryana by one wicket in a humdinger. Chasing 132, Baroda were 108 for 9 at one stage and the defeat was looming large but the last pair, Utkarsh Patel and Bhargav Bhatt, steered their team to the victory pole. This is the third consecutive defeat for Haryana in Ranji Trophy 2012-13 and they are at the bottom of the barrel with no point to their credit.

    Brief scores: Baroda 324 and 133 beat Haryana 295 and 160 by 1 wicket

    In Nagpur, the match between Maharshtra and Vidarbha ended in a draw, and Maharashtra earned three points due to first innings lead. Maharshtra opener Virag Awate, who is 31, scored ceturies in both the innings on a first-class debut.

    Brief scores: Maharshtra 282 and 257 for 7 drew with Vidarbha 266 and 47 for 1.

    For the Delhi vs Tamil Nadu match, read Jaspreet Sahni's report.