Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy Group B, Round 5, Day 2: Haryana, UP, TN and Odisha in driver's seat

    Kanpur: Lower middle order batsman Arish Alam compiled a resilient hundred on a green wicket in Kanpur to take Uttar Pradesh to 301 for 6 in reply to Baroda’s 254 all out. Alam, along with Mohammed Kaif (83) guided his team to a commanding position from a precarious situation of 95 for 4. The duo compiled a 160-run stand as they played with caution on a difficult track. Starting the day on 18 for no loss, UP lost both the openers in the first hour of play with Sankalp Vohra scalping Tanmay Srivastava for 23 and Gagandeep Singh picking up the wicket of Mukul Dagar (13). Suresh Raina, in company of Kaif, scored a quick-fire 23-ball 25 but was dismissed by Abhimanyu Chauhan and when Gagandeep sent Parvinder Singh packing for 11, UP were left reeling. But Arish Alam, who came in at number six supported Kaif well as he reached his second first class hundred late in the day. Kaif got out for 83 immediately after the new ball was taken but Piyush Chawla counter-attacked well with run a ball 23 to take UP’s total past 254 before getting out to Bhargav Bhatt. When stumps were drawn at Kanpur on day two, Amir Khan (3*) was at the crease with Alam (100*). Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 301 for 6 in 94 overs lead Baroda 254 in 83.3 overs (Arish Alam 100*, Mohammed Kaif 83; Gagandeep Singh 3/62) by 47runs.At Lahli, Unmukt Chand’s valiant 76 kept Delhi afloat as they ended day two on 165 for 6 in reply to Haryana’s 307. After stonewalling their way to 219 for 6 on day one, Haryana lower-order added 88 runs with Harshal Patel leading the way with a 49-ball 39. For Delhi, Parvinder Awana finished with a five-for. In reply, Delhi lost Mohit Sharma for nought to Harshal Patel after Mohit Sharma, the Haryana pacer, had caused Unmukt Chand to retire hurt with a blow to the elbow in the first over itself. Sharma then got the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan to leave the visitors tottering at 16 for 2. Mithun Manhas (20) also retired hurt owing to back spasm as Chand walked in to bat again. Vaibhav Rawal (15) and Rajat Bhatia (21) tried to get Delhi back on track with Chand but perished to Patel and Mishra, respectively. Delhi then lost Puneet Bist to a run out and Sumit Narwal for 5 as it marked the end of day two’s play. Brief scores: Delhi 165 for 6 in 54.3 overs trail Haryana 307 in 117.4 overs (Unmukt Chand 76*, Rajat Bhatia 21; Harshal Patel 2/42) by 142 runs.After starting the day at 235 for 3, Subramanium Badrinath plodded his way to 192 runs to help Tamil Nadu to 443 for 8 against Vidarbha. His marathon innings of 192 runs came in 381 balls as he got out to Sandeep Singh late in the day. After Singh dismissed Baba Aparajith for 13 in the first hour of play, Badrinath forged decent partnerships with Ramaswamy Prasanna (33) and Vijay Shankar (66*) in a very slow manner to take TN to a big score. After Badrinath fell to Singh, Shrikanth Wagh picked up two wickets in quick succession late in the day to leave TN on 443 for 8 on day two. Vijay Shankar (66*) and Murugan Ashwin (1*) are at the crease at the end of play on day two. Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 443 for 8 in 180 overs against Vidarbha (Subramanium Badrinath 192, Vijay Shankar 66*21; Shrikanth Wagh 4/101).Good performance by the Odisha top order put them in a favourable position against Maharastra at Sambalpur as the hosts reached 237 for three at stumps on second day in reply to Maharastra’s 315. Captain and opening batsman Natraj Behera and Niranjan Behera hit a half century each after the visitors’ were all out for 315 in 101.5 overs adding 51 runs to their overnight total. Niranjan was batting on a 59 from 174 balls while Biplab Samantray was at the other end on 26 at the end of play. For Odisha, Basant Mohanty returned with first innings figures of three for 40 while Alok Sahoo got two wickets. Shrikant Mundhe grabbed two wickets for 66 runs while Akshay Darekar took the other wicket for Maharastra.Brief Scores : Odisha : 237 for 3in 67 overs (Natraj Behera 60, Niranjan Behera 59*; Shrikant Mundhe 2/66) trail Maharashtra 315 in 101.5 overs (Ankit Bawne 51, Shrikant Mundhe 39*; Basant Mohanty 3/40) by 78.