Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy Group B, Round 5, Day 3: UP thrash Baroda by ten wickets

    Kanpur: Uttar Pradesh moved to the top of the Group B points table after pocketing a bonus point with a ten-wicket win over Baroda at Green Park on Monday. Baroda began their second innings trailing the hosts by 107 runs and collapsed for 114, with Bhuvneshwar Kumar claiming 5 for 34, and a target of eight runs was achieved in nine deliveries. UP began the third day at 301 for 6, a lead of 47, and extended that to 107 by being bowled out for 361. Left-arm seamer Gagandeep Singh took four wickets and Murtuja Vahora three. On a lively track with the ball nipping about and staying low – Bhuvneshwar was bowled by a shooter – batting a second time was always going to be tough for Baroda. Bhuvneshwar used the swing and uneven bounce on offer to nip out the Baroda openers inside five overs and added Raghu Solanki in the seventh. Imtiaz Ahmed weighed in with the wickets of Baroda captain Ambati Rayudu and Kedar Devdhar in the same over, and when Abhimanyu Chauhan was bowled for 32 by Piyush Chawla the visitors were 106 for 7. Bhuvneshwar picked out the tail to finish with his eighth career five-wicket haul, and seven for the match. Baroda’s top scorer Gagandeep with 42 off 45 balls. Arish Alam was voted Man of the Match for his century – the only one in the match – which delivered UP the first-innings lead and set the platform for victory. UP took seven points from the win and now have 17 from four matches, with Odisha and Baroda behind on 13 each from four.Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 361 in 110 overs (Arish Alam 106; Gagandeep Singh 4/86) beat Baroda 254 and 114 in 32.4 overs (Gagandeep 45; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/34) by ten wickets.In Lahli, it was hosts Haryana who will enter the final day's play in command for the first time this season. At 167 for 6, last year's semi-finalists have a lead of 250 over Delhi having bowled the opposition out for 224 to take the first-innings lead. Haryana medium-pacers Harshal Patel, Mohit Sharma and Ashish Hooda combined to take the last four Delhi wickets for 59 runs. Unmukt Chand resumed on 76 but could only add seven runs to his score before he fell to Hooda. Mithun Manhas, having been forced off the field on day two with a back spasm, returned and scored a battling 53. He was last out to Sharma as Haryana claimed an 83-run lead. Delhi's left-arm spinner Vikas Mishra spun out two quick wickets as Haryana struggled to add to that, and then took out Abhimanyu Khod for 36 as the home team fell to 109 for 6. That's when skipper Amit Mishra collected a quick 50 off 62 runs to take them to stumps with a lead of 250. A victory for either team is possible on day four. Brief scores: Haryana 307 and 167 for 6 in 59 overs (Amit Misha 50*) lead Delhi 224 in 76.1 overs (Unmukt Chand 83, Mithun Manhas 53) by 250 runsIn Sambalpur, hosts Odisha capped a good day by taking the first-innings lead over Maharashtra who at stumps were 73 for 1, trailing by 53 runs. Their day could have been a lot better had Odisha not lost their last five wickets for nine runs, leaving them with a lead of 126. Odisha were driven to 441 by Biplab Samantray's 107 and 103 from Niranjan Behera, who hit the second centuries of their respective careers on Monday. Behera fell three runs before Maharashtra's total of 315 was overhauled after putting on 121 with Samantray, but the latter made sure a sizable margin of runs was in the bank before he was ninth out. Deepak Behera also chipped in with 49 off 69 balls, but Odisha will look back at a collapse of 5 for 9 – sparked by seamer Samad Fallah three-wicket burst - with some frustration, especially if they don't claim an outright win. Maharashtra proceeded to lose Virag Awate, who began his first-class career with a century in each innings, and by stumps were 73 for 1. Harshad Khadiwale was on 43 and Sangram Atitkar batting on 24. Brief scores: Maharashtra 315 and 73 for 1 in 26 overs trail Odisha 441 in 129 overs (Biplab Samantray 107, Niranjan Behera 103) by 53 runsThe bat dominated ball on day three in Nagpur, where hosts Vidarbha were 214 for 2 in the 83rd over in reply to Tamil Nadu's first-innings total of 443 for 8. They are 230 runs from taking the three first-innings points, and with opener Faiz Fazal batting on 110 and eight wickets in hand, Vidarbha look set to achieve their target on a dull surface. Tamil Nadu failed to break through after declaring on their overnight total – having batted 180 overs - as Fazal and SS Das, who played 23 Tests for India last decade, put on 151 in 63.1 overs. A run snapped that obdurate stand, and 31 runs later second wicket came Tamil Nadu's way as Aushik Srinivas had Urvesh Patel caught behind for 12. At the close, Fazal was with Shalabh Srivastava (10*) having put on 32. Brief scores: Vidarbha 214 for 2 in 84.4 overs (Faiz Fazal 110, SS Das 62) trail Tamil Nadu 443 for 8 in 180 overs by 229 runs