Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy Group B, Round 5, Day 4: Mishra stars as Haryana beat Delhi

    Lahli: After three consecutive defeats, Haryana burst to life in the 2012-13 Ranji Trophy season with an 83-run win over a fancied Delhi on Tuesday. Amit Mishra’s 73 propped last year’s semi-finalists to 209 as Delhi were set a target of 292, and then he spun out four wickets to put the lid on a crucial win for his team. Haryana began the final day with a lead of 250 and extended that to 292 by being bowled out for 209. Delhi medium-pacer Sumit Narwal picked up five wickets, the last of which was Haryana captain Mishra whose 74 off 111 balls was the best for his team in either innings. Set a target of 293, Delhi lost Unmukt Chand for 4 off the second ball of their innings, bowled by Mohit Sharma. Captain Shikhar Dhawan made 32 off 35 balls before he was run out, and then Sharma and Mishra combined to have the visitors at 105 for 4. A double-strike in the 45th turned the innings from 173 for 4 to 173 for 6, as Rajat Bhatia (33) and Puneet Bisht (0) fell to Mishra’s legspin. The last four wickets fell for 13 runs as Sharma added his third wicket and offspinner Jayant Yadav snared two. Mithun Manhas contributed his second fifty of the match (73) but he was ninth out to Mishra. The margin of defeat – 83 runs – was exactly that as the first-innings lead Haryana had taken. Brief scores: Haryana 307 and 209 in 77 overs (Amit Misha 73; Sumit Narwal 5/35, Vikas Mishra 4/64) beat Delhi 224 and 209 in 67 overs (Mithun Manhas 73; Amit Misha 4/50) by 83 runsFor the second time this season, Tamil Nadu declared their innings after thinking they had enough runs. And for the second time this season, the opposition took the first-innings lead. This time it happened in Nagpur, where Vidarbha claimed three points by overhauling Tamil Nadu’s 443 for 8. From 354 for 6 at one stage, the home team took the lead thanks to skipper Ranjit Paradkar (62) and tailender Shrikant Wagh (83) before they finished on 556 for 8.From 214 for 2 at stumps on Monday, Vidarbha were 230 runs away from taking three first-innings points. Faiz Fazal added 33 to his overnight total before Tamil Nadu captain L Balaji bowled him for 143, his second wicket of the morning after bowling former team-mate Hemang Badani for a duck. Gaurav Upadhyay (30) and Paradkar took the score to 354 when the former fell to debutant Vijay Shankar. Paradkar, however, found able assistance from Wagh in erasing the deficit. Paradkar fell soon after, but Wagh made 83 off 87 balls while the No. 9 Sumit Ruikar batted his way to an unbeaten 67 on debut. The No. 10 Amol Jungade made 28 not out. Brief scores: Vidarbha 556 for 8 in 181 overs (Shrikant Wagh 83, Sumit Ruikar 67*, Ranjit Paradkar 62) drew with Tamil Nadu 443 for 8 In Sambalpur, hosts Odisha failed to make it a hat-trick of victories but did emerge the better side in their fifth-round match against Maharashtra, claiming the first-innings lead to finish the round one point behind table leaders Uttar Pradesh (17). At 73 for 1 at stumps on day three, Maharasthra trailed Odisha by 53 runs and went on to 333 for 5 when the stalemate was called off. Half-centuries to Harshad Khadiwale (92), Sangram Atitkar (88), Ankit Bawne (52*) and Chirag Khurana (52*) gave the visitors one point. For Odisha, right-arm medium-pacer Jagnajit Samal took all four wickets to fall on Tuesday for a career-best 4 for 68 in his eighth match. Brief scores: Odisha 441 drew with Maharashtra 315 and 333 for 5 in 101 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 92, Sangram Atitkar 88, Ankit Bawne 52*, Chirag Khurana 52*)