Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 8, Day 1: Devdhar puts Baroda in comfortable position

    Pune: Kedar Devdhar scored only his second ton in first class cricket and together with Aditya Waghmode shared an unbroken century stand to guide Baroda to 256 for three against Maharashtra.

    At stumps, Devdhar was unbeaten on 104 off 170 balls, while Waghmode faced 238 balls during his patient 87-run unconquered knock. While Devdhar struck 12 boundaries, Waghmode laced his innings with 10 hits to the fence. Apart from Devdhar and Waghmode, opener Saurabh Wakaskar made a 109-ball 50.

    For Maharashtra, right-arm pacer Shrikant Mundhe picked up two wickets for 45 runs, while left-arm spinner Akshay Darekar accounted for the other Baroda batsman. However, the start was far from rosy for Baroda as the visitors lost two quick wickets after being asked to bat.

    Wakaskar and Waghmode then steadied Baroda's ship with a 70-run third wicket stand before Waghmode combined with Devdhar to take the visitors to a comfortable position at the end of the day.

    Brief scores: Baroda: 256 for three in 90 overs (Kedar Devdhar 104 not out, Aditya Waghmode 87 not out; Shrikant Mundhe 2 for 45).

    Odisha vs Vidarbha:

    In Cuttack, Biplab Samantray took three wickets as pacers put Odisha on top against Vidarbha. Right-arm medium pacer Samantray (3 for 27) did the bulk of the damage while Basant Mohanty and Alok Chandra Sahoo also shone with two wickets each as Odisha restricted the visitors to 188 for eight at stumps.

    Gaurav Upadhyaya (30) and Sumit Ruikar (3) were at the crease when stumps were drawn for the day. This match is of critical importance to both teams as Odisha are on 16 points from six games while Vidarbha have 13 from an equal number of matches played. A win here could put them in top three, and thus quarter-final content_cnion.

    Vidarbha were left reeling at 48 for three but the fourth-wicket pair of Hemang Badani (40) and Ubarhande put up a good resistance and took the team past 100-run mark with their 74-run stand.

    Brief Scores: Vidarbha 1st innings: 188 for 8 in 87 overs (Hemang Badani 40, Amol Ubarhande 38; Biplab Samantray 3 for 27, Basant Mohanty 2 for 23).

    Uttar Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu:

    In Chennai, thanks to dropped chances by hosts Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh managed to post 279 for six on the opening day.

    Electing to bat, opener Tanmay Srivastava survived two chances early on before being finally caught by Suresh Kumar off Aushik Srinivas for 31. Abhinav Mukund was the fielder on both occasions - at at short leg and silly point. Srivatsava's partner, Mukul Dagar, was caught by Baba Aparajith off Malolan Rangarajan.

    Uttar Pradesh were 57 for two before Mohammad Kaif and Umang Sharma brought about some stability to their innings. Kaif and Sharma's 66-run partnership ended when the latter was superbly caught by Aparajith off Rangarajan.

    The pair put on the runs 21.1 overs, with Sharma contributing 36. Parvinder Singh did not stay long enough as he was caught by Prasanna off Aparajith for 16.

    At stumps, Prashant Gupta (46 off 86 balls) and Ali Murtaza (49 off 63 balls) were at the crease.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 279 for 6 (Kaif 68, Murtaza 49 not out, Rangarajan 3 for 84) against Tamil Nadu.

    Karnataka vs Haryana:

    In Hubli, skipper Amit Mishra struck an unbeaten 86 and added 125 runs for the unbeaten seventh wicket stand with Jayant Yadav as Haryana ended the first day's play at 293 for seven against Karnataka.

    Mishra and Yadav, who is batting on 64, came together when Haryana were in trouble at 168 for seven but for nearly 33 overs, the duo not only defied the host attack but also scored runs freely.
    Mishra batted for nearly three and half hours facing 138 balls and hitting 10 boundaries. Yadav faced 110 deliveries and hit three fours as he proved to be an able ally for the India discard.

    Karnataka skipper Stuart Binny's decision to field was vindicated by his new ball bowlers HS Sharath and SL Akshay as they picked five of the seven wickets that fell on the day.

    Among the Haryana top-order, only Sunny Singh contributed 56 off 142 balls with six boundaries while opener Rahul Dewan scored a quickfire 39 off 49 balls with seven boundaries.

    Right-arm medium pacer Akshay was the most successful bowler with figures of three for 59 while Sharath got two for 49.

    Brief Scores: Haryana 293 for 7 (Amit Mishra 86 batting, Jayant Yadav 64 batting, SL Akshay 3 for 59) vs Karnataka.

    (With inputs from agencies)