Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 8, Day 2: Vidarbha in command against Odisha

    Cuttack: Vidarbha produced a brilliant bowling display as they bowled out Odisha for just 121 to place themselves in the drivers' seat in their Ranji Trophy group league match on the second day here on Sunday.

    Sandeep Singh bagged four wickets for 39 runs to trigger a top-order collapse for the home side who were all out in just 50.2 overs in their first innings. Faiz Fazal claimed two wickets for 18 runs as all the six Vidarbha bowlers bowled economically and returned with at least a wicket each as the visitors took 85-run first innings lead.

    In reply to Vidarbha's first innings 206 all out, Odisha lost their opener Girija Rout for a duck by the first over itself with Sandeep taking his first wicket. The home side never recovered from the initial jolt as they were 37 for four by the 14th over and were eventually all out for 121. Their highest partnership was the 35 between Govind Podder (25) and captain Natraj Behera (17) for the fifth wicket. Niranjan Behera was the top-scorer for Odisha with 28.

    In their second innings, Vidarbha were 64 for two in 30 overs. They have taken an overall lead of 149 runs with eight second innings wickets in hand. Amol Ubarhande was batting on 38 and Amol Jungade was giving him company without opening account when the stumps were drawn today.

    Earlier, Vidarbha resumed the day on 188 for eight and added 18 runs in the morning before being all out for 206.

    Brief scores: Vidarbha: 206 all out in 93.5 overs (Gaurav Upadhyaya 40, Basant Mohanty 3 for 31) and 64 for 2 in 30 overs (Amol Ubarhande batting 38). Odisha 1st Innings: 121 all out in 50.2 overs (Niranjan Behera 28; Sandeep Singh 4 for 39).

    Karnataka vs Haryana:

    In Hubli, leg-spinner Amit Mishra celebrated his return to Indian ODI squad with a brilliant double century as he added an astonishing 392 runs for a record eighth wicket partnership with Jayant Yadav to guide Haryana to 587 for nine against Karnataka.

    Mishra and Yadav joined hands when Haryana were precariously placed at 168 for seven and when Yadav departed on a personal best score of 211, the visitors had reached 560. Mishra remained unbeaten on 202 hitting 21 fours and a six off 373 balls. Yadav hit 26 boundaries in his 367 ball knock.

    This was the best eighth wicket partnership in Ranji Trophy surpassing the 268 runs added by Tamil Nadu's Sridharan Sriram and M R Sriniwas against Punjab in Mohali in the 2002-03 season.

    However, the duo failed to equal the world record partnership for the eighth wicket by only 41 runs. It is 433 runs added by Victor Trumper and Arthur Sims for the touring Australian side against New Zealand's Canterbury district at Christchurch way back in 1913-14.

    Karnataka skipper Stuart Binny used 10 bowlers save his glovesman CM Gautham. SL Akshay with 3 for 100 was the most successful bowler while Ronit More and HS Sharath also got two wickets apiece.

    While Mishra batted for nearly nine and half hours, Yadav got his runs of seven and hours. The moment Mishra completed his coveted double hundred, Haryana declared their innings promptly. Karnataka faced one over before close of play and were 11 for no loss with Robin Uthappa and Lokesh Rahul at crease.

    Brief Scores: Haryana 587 for 9 (Amit MIshra 202 not out, Jayant Yadav 22, SL Akshay 3 for 100).

    Uttar Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu:

    In Chennai, Ali Murtaza scored a fluent 152-ball 106 and then bagged four wickets as Uttar Pradesh took control of their Group B Ranji Trophy match against Tamil Nadu. At stumps on the second day, Tamil Nadu were struggling at 149 for six in reply to Uttar Pradesh's first-innings total of 392 all out.

    Resuming on overnight 279 for six, Uttar Pradesh were served well by the 22-year-old left-handed Murtaza from Hyderabad, who struck 10 fours and three sixes during his stay at the crease.

    Murtaza added 120 runs for the seventh wicket with Prashant Gupta (57 off 104 balls) and 67 for the eighth wicket with Praveen Gupta who contributed with an unbeaten knock of 29.

    Ramaswamy Prasanna and Yo Mahesh were batting on 16 and nine respectively when the stumps were drawn. Tamil Nadu trailed by 243 runs with four wickets remaining in the first innings.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 1st innings: 392 all out in 128.5 overs (Ali Murtaza 106, Mohammad Kaif 68, Prashant Gupta 57; Malolan Rangarajan 4 for 107); Tamil nadu 1st innings: 149 for six in 57 overs (Murali Vijay 42; Ali Murtaza 4 for 65).

    Baroda vs Maharashtra:

    In Pune, pace duo of Shrikant Mundhe and Samad Fallah shared seven wickets between them as Baroda stumbled from a good position to be bowled out for 362 in their first innings against Maharashtra.

    Resuming at 256 for three, Baroda's last seven batsmen could add just 106 runs to their overnight score. Last night centurion Kedar Devdhar failed to add to his overnight score of 104 as he became a run out victim.

    On the other hand, Aditya Waghmode, resuming at 87, (113) completed his century before becoming Fallah's victim. While Mundhe returned with figures of four for 72, Fallah picked up his three wickets giving away 86 runs.

    In reply, opener Harshad Khadiwale remained unbeaten on 69 to guide Maharashtra to 131 for three at stumps. Ankit Bawne was the other not out batsman on 26.

    Mutuza Vahora and Gagandeep Singh picked up a wicket each for Baroda. Maharashtra still trail Baroda by 231 runs with seven wickets at hand.

    Brief Scores: Baroda: 362 all out in 130.4 overs (Aditya Waghmode 113, Kedar Devdhar 104; Shrikant Mundhe 4 for 72); Maharashtra: 131 for three in 45 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 69 not out, Ankit Bawne 29 not out; Mutuza Vahora 1 for 6).

    (With inputs from agencies)