Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 8, Day 3: Vidarbha thrash Odisha by 106 runs

    Cuttack: Riding on pacer Amol Jungade's fine five-wicket haul, Vidarbha bowled out Odisha for a paltry score for the second time in their Ranji Trophy group league game to win the match by 106 runs inside three days here on Monday.

    Vidarbha looked like to have lost the plot after they were bowled out by Odisha for just 140 in their second innings, giving the home side a target of 226 for a win at DRIEMS Ground at Tangi here. But Jungade's five for 44 and help from Shrikant Wagh (2 for 23) and Faiz Fazal (2 for 24) turned the match in favour of Vidarbha who wrapped up the match an hour before the schedule close on the third day.

    With this win, Vidarbha are now third in Group B, moving to 19 points, ahead of Delhi's 17. Odisha are now stuck at 16 points after seven games. Odisha failed to negotiate the Vidarbha pace attack as they were all out for just 119 in 40.1 overs. Number eight batsman Lagnajit Samal top-scored with 30 who also put up the home side's best partnership of 39 with Alok Sahoo for the eighth wicket.

    Earlier in the morning, Odisha pulled themselves back into the game by taking the last seven Vidarbha wickets for just 41 runs. Vidarbha, who resumed at 64 for two on Monday, added 76 runs in 28.1 overs, before being bowled out for 140 in 58.1 overs.

    Medium pacer Alok Mangaraj was the chief wrecker with five for 19. Wicketkeeper Amol Ubarhande top-scored for Vidarbha with a 136-ball 55 with the help of nine boundaries. He added 17 runs on Monday to his overnight 38 before becoming Mangaraj's third victim of the day.

    Brief scores: Vidarbha: 206 and 140 all out in 58.1 overs (Amol Ubarhande 55; Alok Mangaraj 5 for 19). Odisha: 121 and 119 all out in 40.1 overs (Lagnajit Samal 30; Amol Jungade 5 for 44).

    Haryana vs Karnataka:

    In Hubli, seamer Harshal Patel wreaked havoc as Haryana enforced follow-on on hosts Karnataka in a group league game of the Ranji Trophy here on Monday. In reply to Haryana's mammoth 587 for nine, Karnataka were all out for 272 with rookie Kunal Kapoor scoring his maiden first-class hundred as Harshal picked up five for 79.

    Having conceded a lead of 315 runs, Karnataka batted safely in the second innings reaching 63 for no loss with India discard Robin Uthappa hiting 37 and partner Lokesh Rahul scoring 24. Save Kapoor who scored 106 with the help of 10 boundaries and a six and Uthappa who smashed 51 in the first innings, the other Karnataka batsmen didn't show any required application as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

    While Kapoor held fort at one end during his 268 minute stay at the crease, all the other Karnataka batsmen including Uthappa were guilty of getting out playing poor strokes. Haryana skipper Amit Mishra also got three wickets including the important wicket of Uthappa who was taken by Rahul Dewan in the close-in region.

    While Harshal ran through the middle-order, Joginder Sharma complemented him well removing the dangerous Stuart Binny and left-hander Amit Verma.

    Brief Scores: Haryana 587 for 9 decl., Karnataka 272 (Kunal Kapoor 106, Harshal Patel 5 for 79, Amit Mishra 3 for 79) & following on 63 for 0 (Robin Uthappa 37 not out).

    Tamil Nadu vs Uttar Pradesh:

    In Chennai, Tamil Nadu stared at defeat after Uttar Pradesh set them a mammoth target of 421 on a day when 14 wickets fell in their Ranji Trophy Group B match. Uttar Pradesh all-rounder Ali Murtaza capped a career-best haul of seven for 80 to bowl out Tamil Nadu for 179 in the first innings on the penultimate and third day here.

    Tamil Nadu bowlers in turn dismissed the visitors for 207 in their second essay but the first innings failure is bound to cost the hosts dearly as they chase a daunting task. After dismissing Tamil Nadu for 179 in the first innings, UP openers Tanmay Srivastava (27) and Mukul Dagar (65) provided a solid start sharing 65 between them.

    Umang Sharma chipped in with a confident 41 but all others made their exit without making any noteworthy contributions. The eventually team folded for 207 in 71.3 overs. For Tamil Nadu spinners Aushik Srinivas (4 for 37) and Sunil Sam (3 for 27) shone well.

    In reply, Tamil Nadu were five without loss in one over at draw of stumps.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh: 392 and 207 all out in 71.3 overs (M Dagar 65, U Sharma 41, R Aushik Srinivas 4 for 37); Tamil Nadu: 179 and 5 for 0 in one over (A Mukund 5 batting).

    Baroda vs Maharashtra:

    In Pune, opener Harshad Khadiwale scored a fine century while captain Rohit Motwani made a patient 91 to ensure the vital first innings lead for Maharashtra against Baroda.

    At stumps, Maharashtra were 376 for seven, 14 runs ahead of Baroda's first innings total of 362 all out. Khadiwale, resuming at the personal score of 69, went on to make 168 off 276 deliveries during which he hit 19 boundaries and one six.

    Khadiwale got the perfect support from his skipper Motwani as the duo shared 166 runs for the fifth wicket before the former was caught off his own bowling by left-arm spinner Bharghav Bhatt. Motwani too became Bhatt's victim but not before taking Maharashtra to safety. He hit 11 fours during his 239-ball knock.

    For Baroda Bhatt scalped three wickets for 116 runs while Gagandeep Singh picked up two giving away 95 runs. With only a day remaining, the match is heading for a draw and Maharashtra would be more than happy to pocket three points from the encounter by virtue of first innings lead.

    Brief scores: Baroda: 362 all out in 130.4 overs (Aditya Waghmode 113, Kedar Devdhar 104; Shrikant Mundhe 4 for 72). Maharashtra: 376 for seven in 135 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 168, Rohit Motwani 91; Bharghav Bhatt 3 for 116).

    (With inputs from agencies)