Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 9, Day 1: Unmukt scores 82 as Delhi reach 254 for 4

    Nagpur: Opener Unmukt Chand scored 82, while Mohit Sharma and Mithun Manhas made half centuries as Delhi finished the first day's play against Vidarbha at 254 for 4 in the final Ranji Trophy group league match at the old VDCA ground.

    Opting to bat first, Unmukt and skipper Shikhar Dhawan added 72 runs for the opening stand but medium pacer Sandeep Singh breached Dhawan's defence. The visiting captain made 30. The second-wicket partnership between Unmukt and Mohit Sharma (53) was the most productive as they added 101 runs.

    From 173 for 1, there was a mini-slump as Delhi were reduced to 186 for 3 before veteran Mithun Manhas and young Vaibhav Rawal put together a 63-run stand. At stumps, Rawal (16) and Vikas Tokas (5) were at crease. With likes of Rajat Bhatia, Sumit Narwal, Punit Bisht still to come, Delhi can think of a first innings total in excess of 450.

    Brief Scores: Delhi 254 for 4 (Unmukt Chand 82, Mohit Sharma 53, Mithun Manhas 54, Shrikant Wagh 2 for 42) against Vidarbha.

    Odisha vs Uttar Pradesh:

    In Cuttack, Deepak Behera took a six-wicket haul as Odisha bowled out Uttar Pradesh for a meagre 160 and then themselves slumped to 70 for 5 on the opening day.

    Apart from fast bowler Deepak Behera, who gave away just 37 run in his 17.5 overs while claiming six wickets, Basant Mohanty (2 for 28) and Biplab Samantray (2 for 30) also chipped in after Odisha invited the visitors to bat. Akshdeep Nath was the highest scorer for UP with his 37-run knock, while Mukul Dagar (29) and Ali Murtaza (24) chipped in with some notable contributions. The only other UP batsman who could reach double figures was Tanmay Srivastava (16).

    UP, however, did not have a bad start as they reached 59 without any loss for the opening wicket, but the opener Srivastava's dismissal triggered the collapse and the visitors went on to lose two more wickets at the same score. Thereafter, the host bowlers tightened the noose and UP kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

    In reply to UP's modest first innings total, Odisha got off to a poor start losing both the openers - Sandeep Mulia (8) and Natraj Behera (6) - cheaply. At stumps on day one, Halhadar Das was unbeaten on 15 and Biplab Samantray was not out on four.

    Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh: 160 all out in 61 overs (Akshdeep Nath 37, Mukul Dagar 29; Deepak Behera 6 for 37). Odisha: 70 for five in 23 overs (Niranjan Behera 17; Imtiaz Ahmed 2 for 29).

    Karnataka vs Maharashtra:

    In Pune, captain Stuart Binny and wicketkeeper Muralidharen Gautam struck unbeaten centuries as Karnataka recovered from a poor start to end the first day of their last league match of the Ranji Trophy against Maharashtra in a strong position at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

    Binny (115) and Gautam (132) shared 215 runs for the unfinished fifth wicket stand to take Karnataka to 306 for 4 at stumps. Binny consumed just 142 balls and hit 13 fours and two sixes. Gautam, on the other hand, took 261 balls for his unbeaten 132 and hit 15 fours and a six.

    For Maharashtra, Shrikant Mundhe, Sachin Chaudhari and Satyajeet Bachhav took a wicket each.

    Brief scores: Karnataka 1st Innings: 306 for four in 89 overs (Muralidharen Gautam 132 batting, Stuart Binny 115).

    Tamil Nadu vs Haryana:

    In Chennai, the first-day play between Haryana and Tamil Nadu was completely washed out due to heavy rain.

    (With inputs from agencies)