Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 9, Day 4: Karnataka beat Maharashtra to qualify for quarters

    Pune: Ankit Bawne's heroic unbeaten 155 went in vain as Karnataka notched up a thrilling eight-wicket win over Maharashtra on the final day to book a quarter-final berth in the Ranji Trophy on Tuesday.

    After conceding a massive 473-run first innings lead, Maharashtra fought back remarkably well in their follow on with Bawne leading the charge. Karnataka were set a target of 89 from 13 overs and they chased it down with eight balls to spare to collect six points from their last league match and 21 in total to finish third in Group B. The result knocked Delhi and Vidarbha out of tournament after their match in Delhi ended in a draw. Both Delhi and Vidarbha ended their league engagements on 20 points each.

    First innings double centurion Muralidharen Gautam (16 not out) and opener Lokesh Rahul (42 not out) took Karnataka home as their side scored 92 for two in 11.4 overs. Karnataka needed more than seven an over but Rahul and captain Stuart Binny played aggressively, sharing 48 runs from 5.5 overs before the latter was out on 25 (from 17 balls).

    Brief scores: Karnataka: 572 for 9 decl and 92 for 2 (Lokesh Rahul 42 not out); Maharashtra: 99 and 561 all out (Ankit Bawne 155 not out; H S Sharath 4 for 100).

    Tamil Nadu vs Haryana:

    In Chennai, Haryana and Tamil Nadu shared the honours as their rain-curtailed Group B Ranji Trophy match ended in a tame draw. Haryana's middle-order fired in unison as they reached 180 for three in their first innings at stumps on the final day.

    Batting first, Tamil Nadu had scored 571 for six declared after the opening day was washed off at the India Cement Limited Guru Nanak College Ground here.

    Rahul Dalal was the top-scorer for Haryana with an unbeaten 56 off 179 balls, which was laced with nine hits to the fence. For the hosts, Sunil Sam, Yo Mahesh and B Aparajith took one wicket each. Tamil Nadu and Haryana bagged one point each from the drawn tie. Resuming at seven for 0, openers Nitin Saini and Dewan added 40 runs when the former was caught by Arun karthik off Yo Mahesh in the 13th over.

    Dewan and Khod then forged a 33-run partnership for the second wicket but the former was dismissed in the 27th over. Khod then added 42 runs with Dalal for the third wicket before being dismissed by Sunil Sam in the 51st over.

    Brief scores: Tamil Nadu first innings: 571 for 6 decl; Haryana first innings: 180 for 3 (R Dalal 56; B Aparajith 1 for 18).

    Delhi vs Vidarbha:

    In Nagpur, Delhi failed to record an outright win against Vidarbha and were knocked out at the group league stage of the Ranji Trophy. Delhi finished on 20 points from eight games but were pipped at the post by Karnataka, who came from behind to beat Maharashtra by an outright margin to end on 21 points.

    Delhi bowlers got 93 overs on the final day to get 10 Vidarbha wickets and thus ensure seven points which would take them to the knock-out stage but home team defended doggedly to reach 216 for seven when play was finally called off.

    Left-arm spinner Vikas Mishra was the most successful bowler taking three for 26 from 22 overs while Pradeep Sangwan took two wickets. However Delhi missed the services of their best fast bowler Parvinder Awana, who is known to perform well on unresponsive tracks.

    Brief scores: Delhi 523 for 9 decl. Vidarbha 257 & 216 for 7 (Shalabh Srivastava 3 for 26, Pradeep Sangwan 2 for 57). Match drawn. Points: Delhi 3; Vidarbha 1.

    (With inputs from agencies)