Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group C: Andhra reduce Tripura to 165 for 9; Maharashtra dismiss Himachal for 228

    Agartala: Medium pacers Paidikalva Vijaykumar and Kakani Harish shared seven wickets between them as Andhra reduced Tripura to 165 for 9 in the first innings on the opening day of their Group C Ranji Trophy match on Sunday.

    Vijaykumar (4 for 34) scalped four wickets while Harish (3 for 38) took three. Duvvarapu Shivkumar (1 for 16) and Garikina Prasad (1 for 22) too contributed with a wicket apiece after Andhra elected to field. For Tripura, Tushar Saha remained unbeaten on 53 while Abhijit Dey made a fighting 32.

    Asked to take the first strike, Tripura lost both their openers - Samrat Singha (9) and KB Pawan (5) - within 8.3 overs. While Singha was caught by Bodapati Sumanth off Shivkumar, Vijaykumar disturbed the timbers of Pawan.

    Vijaykumar produced a brilliant spell of seam bowling to remove Yogesh Takawale for nought in his next over. Harish removed Manisankar Murasingh (17) and Abbas Ali (8) in quick succession while Vijaykumar snared the wicket of Kaushal Acharjee (8) as the hosts were left reeling at 74 for 7.

    Dey and Saha stitched together a crucial 44-run partnership for the eighth wicket to take the team past 100-mark.

    Brief scores: Tripura: 165 for 9 in 63 overs (Tushar Saha 53 batting, Abhijit Dey 32, DP Vijaykumar 4/34, Kakani Harish 3/38)

    Maharashtra dismiss Himachal for 228

    At Pune, Maharashtra produced a disciplined bowling effort to bundle out visitors Himachal Pradesh for 228 on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match.

    Maharashtra reached 35 for no loss at stumps with Harshad Khadiwale (17 batting) and Rohit Motwani (13 batting) in the middle.

    Samad Fallah (3 for 48), Shrikant Mundhe (2 for 44) and Chirag Khurana (2 for 3) shared seven wickets between them to skittle out Himachal Pradesh in 76.2 overs.

    Brief Scores: Himachal Pradesh 228 all out in 76.2 overs (Prashant Chopra 47, Paras Dogra 40; Samad Fallah 3/48); Maharashtra: 35 for 0 in 7 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 17 batting, Rohit Motwani 13 batting)

    Surendran, Manoharan hit half-centuries for Kerala

    At Porvorim, opener Nikhilesh Surendran and Vinoop Manoharan struck half-centuries as Kerala were dismissed for 273 against Goa on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Group C.

    In reply, Goa were 11 for 0 with Amogh Desai (2 batting) and Swapnil Asnodkar (9 batting) in the middle when stumps were drawn for the day.

    Electing to bat after winning the toss, Kerala got off to a poor start as medium pacer Buddhadev Mangaldas sent back opener VA Jagadeesh (2) and Robert Fernandez (6) in quick succession.

    Surendran and Rohan Prem stabilised the innings with a 56-run paertnership for the third wicket but Amit Yadav had Prem caught by Sagun Kamat for 20.

    Surendran reached his half-century as wickets fell at the other end. He also stitched a crucial 43-run stand for the fourth wicket with skipper Sachin Baby before falling to Hanumant Gadekar for 84.

    The opener faced 120 balls in his innings and hit 16 fours. Next man-in, P Anthaf did not last long and was dismissed by Jakati for 4.

    Baby then found an ably ally in Manoharan and both took the team past 200-mark.

    The duo put on 96 runs for the sixth-wicket stand as Kerala looked to recover from early jolts.

    However, Baby was dismissed by Amogh Desai just after completing his half-century.

    It was then left to Manoharan to provide respectability to the score as he waged a lone battle and scored a patient 151-ball 87.

    For Goa, Mangaldas and Jakati accounted for three wickets each while Gadekar picked up two wickets.

    Brief Scores: Kerala 273 all out in 83 overs (V Manoharan 87, N Surendran 84; Mangaldas 3/66, Shadab Jakati 3/72)