Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group C: Goa poised for victory after taking 1st innings lead

    Porvorim: Opener Swapnil Asnodkar and Amit Yadav scored a half-century each to help Goa take vital 119 runs first innings lead over Andhra Pradesh on the second day of the four-day Ranji Trophy Group 'C' league match on Tuesday.

    Resuming at their overnight score of 58 for 2, Goa's top order batsmen failed to negotiate the visitors' bowling attack as wickets fell at regular intervals.

    Opener Swapnil Asnodkar put up a brave front to take Goa score close to Andhra's first innings 148 all out, before he was cleaned-bowled by B Sudhakar for 80 with the score at 137 for 6. His 80 came from 181 balls and laced with 10 fours.

    Amit Yadav (51) scored a useful half century adding 50 runs for the last wicket along with B Mangaldas to see Goa take a vital 119 runs first innings lead.

    Ravi Kant Shukla (38), Darshan Misal (29) also chipped in useful runs. B Mangaldas remained not out on 11.

    In their second innings, Andhra were tottering at 32 for 3, still requiring 87 runs to avoid an innings defeat with seven wickets in hand.

    Harshad Gadekar claimed both the openers Bharath K (11) and D B Prashanth Kumar(1) While Amit Yadav dismissed B A Sumanth (9).

    For Andhra, B Sudhakar was the most successful bowler with three wickets. P Vijay Kumar, K Harish and S K Mohammed Basa took two wickets each while D Siva Kumar claimed one wicket.

    Brief scores: Andhra Pradesh: 148 and 32 for 3 in 16 overs. Goa: 267 all out in 97 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 80, Amit Yadav 51, Ravi Kant Shukla 38; B Sudhakar 3 for 42).

    Maharashtra take first innings lead over Assam

    In Guwahati, left-arm spinner Akshay Darekar scalped six wickets to help Maharashtra bundle out Assam for a meagre 152 and take a massive 209-run first innings lead.

    In reply to Maharashtra's first innings total of 361, the hosts fell for 152 as Darekar finished with impressive figures of six for 53, while Shrikant Mundhe chipped in with three for 17.

    Assam kept losing wickets at regular interval even as Darekar and Mundhe wreaked havoc. Niraj Patel was the only batsman who managed to show some resistance, top scoring with 40.

    Maharashtra, in their second innings, reached 16 for no loss with openers Harshad Khadiwale (0) and skipper Rohit Motwani (10) at the crease when the stumps were drawn.

    Earlier, resuming on 343 for eight in their first innings, Maharashtra could add just 18 runs in the morning by losing two wickets in the process.

    Brief scores: Maharashtra: 361 & 16 for no loss (Rohit Motwani batting 10). Assam: 152 all out (Niraj Patel 40, Amit Sinha 20; Akshay Darekar 6 for 53, Shrikant Mundhe 3 for 17).