Ranji Trophy, Group C: Kerala take 1st innings lead over Goa

Updated: December 23, 2013, 7:06 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group C: Kerala take 1st innings lead over Goa

Porvorim: Medium pacer Nizar Niyas scalped six wickets to help Kerala gain the first innings lead over hosts Goa in their Ranji Trophy Group C match on Monday.

Kerala were 31-run ahead in their second innings with Nikhilesh Surendran (0 batting) and VA Jagadeesh (0 batting) in the middle when stumps were drawn for the day.

Niyas shone with six for 82 as Goa were bowled out for 242 in response to Kerala's first innings total of 273.

Earlier, Goa who resumed on 11 for no loss, lost opener Swapnil Asnodkar (13) to Niyas in the first session. Other opener Amogh Sunil Desai (49) and Sagun Kamat (96) added 117 runs for the second wicket as Goa looked well on course to surpass Kerala's first innings score. But Niyas triggered a Goan collapse as he sent back Desai, Rohit Asnodkar (1), Ravikant Shukla (0) and Keenan Vaz (0) in quick succession to leave the hosts tottering at 143 for five.

Kamat missed out on a well-deserved century by just four runs as he was caught by Surendram off Rohan Prem with the score on 162. His 155-ball knock was laced with 13 fours and a six. None of the other batsmen offered any resistance and the side was dismissed for 242.

Apart from Niyas, Prem also accounted for two wickets.

Brief scores: Kerala: 273 and 0 for 0 in 1 over Goa: 242 all out in 91.2 overs (Sagun Kamat 96, Amogh Sunil Desai 49; Nizar Niyas 6 for 82, Rohan Prem 2 for 10).

Hyderabad post 341 for 4 on day two against J&K

At Jammu, centuries by D Ravi Teja (153 not out) and Hanuma Vihari (109) steered Hyderabad to 341 for 4 on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match against Jammu & Kashmir at the Gandhi Memorial Science College Ground.

There was no play possible on the first day on Sunday because of rain but once the game started on Monday, the visitors laid a solid platform.

Put in to bat by J&K, Hyderabad got off to a good start despite losing opener TL Suman (9) cheaply. Akshath Reddy and Ravi Teja shared a 87-run stand for the second wicket before the former fell for a well-made 49 off 87 balls with 10 hits to the fence.

Vihari joined hands with Ravi Teja and the duo punished the bowling during their 203-run stand for the third wicket. Vihari was eventually dismissed for 109, having struck 18 fours, while Ravi Teja remained unbeaten on 153 with 17 fours and two sixes.

At stumps, Amol Shinde (4 not out) was giving Ravi Teja company at the other end.

Brief scores: Hyderabad 1st innings: 341 for four in 84 overs (D Ravi Teja batting 153, Hanuma Vihari 109) v Jammu & Kashmir

14 wkts fall in Tripura vs Andhra Ranji match day two

At Agartala, fourteen wickets fell on day two as the Ranji Trophy Group C match between Tripura and Andhra Pradesh remained finely balanced.

Tripura, who began the day at 165 for 9, could only add 14 to that score in five overs to be all out for 179 from 68 overs.

Andhra, however, failed to capitalise on that low score, and lost three quick wickets to stumble to 42 for 3. Bodapati Sumanth led the recovery with 55, but from 116 for 3, the visitors collapsed and were bundled out for 163 to conceded a 16-run first innings lead to Tripura.

Seamer Rana Dutta finished with 5 for 51 - his best figures in first-class cricket - while Manisankar Murasingh scalped three.

When Tripura batted for the second time, Andhra clawed their way back into the game with three early wickets, leaving the hosts at 20 for 3 at stumps on Monday.

Brief Scores: Tripura: 179 all out in 68 overs (Tushar Saha 61; Paidikalva Vijaykumar 5/40) and 20 for 3 in 11 overs; Andhra: 163 all out (Bodapati Sumanth 55, Rana Dutta 5/51)

Maharashtra in strong position against HP

At Pune, half-centuries from Harshad Khadiwale (92) and Ankit Bawne (76 batting) helped Maharashtra reach 319 for 4 to secure a first-innings lead of 91 against Himachal Pradesh on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match.

Having bowled Himachal out for 228 on Sunday, Maharashtra began the second day on a positive note with a 91-run opening stand between Khadiwale and captain Rohit Motwani.

Rishi Dhawan dismissed Motwani in the 27th over to extend his tally in this season's Ranji Trophy to 49, but Maharashtra carried on with a partnership of 70 between Khadiwale and Sangram Dilp Atitkar, who made 49.

Himachal fought back with two quick wickets, but Bawne put up stands of 68 and an unbroken 82 with Khadiwale and Chirag Khurana respectively, to lift the home side to 319 for 4 at the draw of stumps.

Khadiwale struck 11 fours during his 92, while Bawne's 76 not out included eight fours. Chirag Khurana was giving company to Bawne on 37 at close of second day's play.

Brief Scores: Himachal Pradesh: 228; Maharashtra: 319 for 4 in 97 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 92, Ankit Bawne batting 76; Rishi Dhawan 2/105)

First Published: December 23, 2013, 7:06 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking