Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy, Group C: Maharashtra beat Tripura, Kerala get three points

    Pune: Medium pacer Sachin Chaudhari's (7/52) sensational bowling effort guided Maharashtra to a nine-wicket win over Tripura in their Group C Ranji Trophy match here Wednesday.

    Needing 63 to win in their second innings, Kedar Jadhav made a quick-fire 48 not out to take his home with just one wicket down after Chaudhari along with Shrikant Mundhe (3/62) wreaked havoc on the fourth and final day at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium here.

    Tripura wicketkeeper Yogesh Takawale (109) made a valiant unbeaten century but could stop the hosts from collecting full six points. Takawale hit 10 fours and three sixes in his 203-ball stay at the crease but failed to find support from the other batsmen as Tripura kept losing wickets at regular intervals and folded at 218.

    Takawale shared a 113-run stand with Rana Dutta (27) for the eighth wicket, raising hopes of bailing out the visitors. But Chaudhari trapped Dutta lbw and then polished off the tail to give his side an easy target to chase. Jadhav smashed 48 off just 25 balls including eight boundaries and two sixes while first innings double centurion Vijay Zol remained unbeaten on 13.

    In another Group C match in Guwahati, Kerala got three points on the basis of first innings lead after their match against Assam ended in a draw. Resuming on 13 for no loss, Assam in their second innings were 217 for nine on the final day at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium. Tarjinder Singh (46) and Sibsankar Roy (45) were the two best scorers for them.

    For Kerala, Vinoop Manoharan (3/66) and C Shahid (3/43) were the most successful bowlers. Riding on Sanju Samson's (211) marvellous double hundred, Kerala had gained a 39-run lead yesterday. At Uppal, G Hanuma Vihari scored a patient half century as Hyderabad collected three points from their Group C match against Andhra, which ended in a draw.

    Hyderabad, who had a 35-run first innings lead, declared their final innings on 251 for six with Hanuma Vihari scoring 68 from 222 balls including five fours. Marripuri Suresh claimed three scalps while D Shivkumar bagged two Hyderabad wickets. Andhra, in their second innings, were 51 without a wicket in 19 overs when the match ended.

    In another match, Goa openers Amogh Desai and Swapnil Asnodkar hit sparkling centuries while following on as their Ranji Trophy match against Himachal Pradesh ended in a draw on the fourth and final. Desai (126) and Asnodkar (109 not out) added an identical 100 runs Wednesday after resuming the day on 26 and nine respectively.

    The duo had a 238-run stand for the opening wicket from 77.5 overs as Goa ended the day at 282 for two in their second innings from 93 overs at the HPCA Stadium which was taken over by the state government in dramatic circumstances on the opening day of the match.

    Desai hit 17 fours and two sixes in his innings of 243 balls while Asnodkar's unbeaten knock of 109 was studded with 14 boundaries. Himachal Pradesh, who had declared their first innings at 558 for five, secured three points by virtue of taking the first innings lead while Goa had to be content with one point.

    Brief Scores:

    HP 1st innings: 558 for five decl

    Goa: 243 and 282 for 2 in 93 overs (Amogh Desai 126, Swapnil Asnodkar 109 not out).