Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy: Matches hit by rain on day 1

    Kanpur: Pacer Rishi Dhawan shone with a five-wicket haul as Himachal Pradesh bundled out Uttar Pradesh for a paltry 197 in their first innings on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match.

    Dhawan (5/80) ripped through Uttar Pradesh's top and middle order removing opener Digvijay Singh (22), captain Mohammad Kaif (9), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0) and Piyush Chawla (9) after the hosts were sent into bat by the visitors at the Green Park stadium.

    Parvinder Singh (46) and Rudra Pratap Singh (47) made a late fightback but that was not enough as Uttar Pradesh folded for 197 in 76.4 overs.

    In reply, Himachal too found themselves in a spot of bother as they were reduced to nine for 2 at the draw of stumps with opener Sangram Singh and VA Indulkar batting at 7 and 0, respectively.

    Brief Scores:

    UP: First innings 197 (RP Singh 47, Parvinder Singh 46; Rishi Dhawan 5/80)

    HP: First innings 9/2 (Sangram Singh 7 not out, RP Singh 2/6)

    Saurashtra vs Delhi

    Weather god played spoilsport as the opening day's play in the Ranji Trophy Super League Group A match between Delhi and Saurashtra was called off without a ball being bowled here on Wednesday.

    Umpires CK Nandan and AM Saheba performed four inspection before calling off the day's play at the Khandheri Cricket Stadium.

    The match is important for Saurashtra, who have just two points from three matches.

    Gujarat vs Bengal:

    The first day's play of Ranji Trophy Group A Super League match between Gujarat and Bengal was called off without a ball being bowled due to rain here today.

    The umpires RM Deshpande and SD Ranade inspected the ground four times in the day and decided to call off the day's play at 1600hrs. The toss is yet to be held.

    Gujarat have collected nine points from one win and two draws while Bengal are on five from three draws.

    Mumbai vs Assam:

    Play on day one of the Ranji Trophy Group A Elite division match between Mumbai and Assam was abandoned due to wet outfield.

    The match was earlier scheduled to be hosted by the under-renovation Wankhede Stadium before being shifted to Mumbai Cricket Association's ground at the Bandra-Kurla Complex.

    Mumbai top Group A with 11 points from three matches, while Assam have six points from as many games.

    Tamil Nadu vs Railways:

    Put into bat, Tamil Nadu were 26 for one in the eight overs possible against Railways on the rain-hit first day of the Elite-A Ranji Trophy match.

    The umpires decided to commence play at 4:30 p.m. and with Railways opting to field, Tamil Nadu lost opener Anirudha Srikkanth (1) in the second over to medium pacer J P Yadav.

    At close, Abhinav Mukund (19) and K B Arun Karthik (5) were at the crease.

    Brief Scores:

    Tamil Nadu: First innings 26 for 1 (A Mukund 19 not out; J P Yadav 1/13)

    Baroda vs Punjab:

    J A Kolsawala and CC Williams shared an 80-run opening partnership as Baroda reached 94 for one against Punjab on the first day of their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match.

    Kolsawala slammed six boundaries in his 129-ball innings to give Baroda a positive start after Punjab skipper Pankaj Dharmani won the toss and decided to field at the Moti Bagh Stadium.

    Williams on 33 with three boundaries and KH Devdhar on 6 were at the crease at stumps. For Punjab, MS Gony was the only wicket-taker.

    Brief Scores:

    Baroda: First innings 94/1 in 48 overs (JA Kolsawala 43, CC Williams 33; MS Gony 1/23)

    Karnataka vs Orissa:

    Veteran Sunil Joshi spun a web around Orissa batsmen, taking five for 35 to restrict the visitors to 191 on the first day of their Ranji Trophy Super League match at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

    With Joshi leading by example and well assisted by Sagar and Sreenath Aravind, Orissa batsmen, with the exception of Niranjan Behera, failed to impress.

    Behera top scored for Orissa with an unbeaten 83 off 235 balls. His knock was laced with 12 boundaries.

    In reply, Karnataka were 18 for two when stumps were drawn on the first day. Ganesh Satish survived a testing opening spell after Debasish Mohanty and Alok Sahoo removed K B Pawan and Lokesh Rahul in quick succession.

    Brief Scores:

    Orissa: First innings 191 all out (Niranjan Behera 83 not out; Sunil Joshi 5/35)

    Karnataka: First innings 18/2