Quick Links



    Ranji Trophy: UP register outright win over Delhi

    Ghaziabad: Virender Sehwag's blazing knock of 107 went in vain as Uttar Pradeh registered an outright victory over Delhi, beating the visitors by six wickets on the fourth day of their Ranji Trophy match here on Monday.

    Sehwag, the Delhi captain, smacked 19 fours in his 165-ball knock. Delhi, who began the day on 197 for 4, added another 125 runs to their overnight lead of 29 before getting dismissed for 322. Sehwag scored 86 of those 125.

    Chasing 155 to win in maximum of 50 overs, UP began well, with openers Tanmay Shrivastava (26) and Mukul Dagar (37), who also scored a century in the first innings, sharing 54 runs for the opening wicket. Suresh Raina, after his 52 in the previous innings, too made 37 off 46 to take his side to the doorstep of victory, while Arish Alam (15) and Ali Murtaza (14) took the side home.

    Earlier, Sehwag, although tentative, started the day with a couple of boundaries. Manhas too was solid in defence before Bhuvneshwar Kumar got him caught in the slips for 65. Sumit Narwal joined Sehwag but went back for a duck to a needless run out. A direct throw from Arish Alam found the left hander short of his crease at the non-striker's end.

    Sehwag, meanwhile, dealt in boundaries and got to his fifty with a glide to the vacant third man area for four. Raina, who was playing a waiting game until then, dropped Sehwag - who was batting on 70 then - at first slip. It was a thick outside edge that came to him in a flash. Closing in on to his hundred, Sehwag went on a rampage. He smashed four boundaries from 83 to 99 and took a well-stolen two to the cover point to complete his century. His 100 came in 146 balls, comprising 18 fours in 198 mins.

    But that's where the wickets started to fall. Pradeep Sangwan was caught behind by wicketkeeper Amir Khan off Imtiaz Ahmed. Delhi, who went into lunch at 308 for 7, lost Ishant Sharma (1) straight after the break. When it looked like he would score some quick runs, Sehwag gave a simple catch to Praveen Kumar at mid-on off Imtiaz, who finished with 4 for 112 following his maiden five-wicket haul in the first innings. Asish Nehra was the last man to depart as he lost his stumps to Bhuvnesh.

    Shrivastava and Dagar started off the chase well, with latter scoring at a quick pace. Mithun Manhas provided the breakthrough off his very first ball, getting Dagar caught at long-on.

    Captain Raina, who promoted himself ahead of Kaif, and Tanmay then strung 35 for the second wicket before the latter was involved in a run out. Raina, who played some attacking strokes, was caught at deep cover off Ishant. But Alam and Murtaza scored the remaining runs to help their side register a memorable win.