Quick Links



    Ravi Teja slams unbeaten century in Hyderabad's easy win

    Margao: Dwaraka Ravi Teja slammed a belligerent 67-ball 111 as Hyderabad cruised to an eight-wicket victory over Goa in their South Zone Vijay Hazare one-day tournament here on Sunday.

    Chasing 226 after electing to field, Hyderabad made 228 in just 23 overs at the Dr Rajendra Prasad Stadium, with the unbeaten Ravi Teja striking 12 fours and four sixes. Akash Bhandari was not left far behind, as he made a breezy 78 of just 42 balls with the help of six fours and four sixes.

    Spinner Shadab Jakati gave away 57 runs in six overs while medium pacer S S Yadav conceded 50 form five. The other bowlers, H H Gadekar and S S Benadekar too went for runs, giving away 43 and 36 runs in five and three overs respectively.

    Earlier, Goa were off to a good start with openers Swapnil Asnodkar (73) and Sagun Kamat (63) putting on 115 runs in just 11.2 overs. But barring Manvinder Bisla (40), none of the batsman could make significant contribution after the openers' dismissals.

    Paceman S Sreesanth took four wickets before Robert Fernandez and Raiphi Gomez struck half-centuries as Kerala defeated Andhra by six wickets in a Vijay Hazare Trophy (South Zone) match, here. Asked to bat, Andhra scored 256 for six with Sirkar Bharat (74) and NJ Sai Krishna (61) scoring half-centuries.

    Bharat was involved in a 103-run stand for first wicket with fellow opener Prasanth Kumar (41) and then added 56 runs for the second wicket with Krishna. Off-spinner Rohan Prem removed both the openers and then Sreesanth (4/61) took all the wickets that fell. Kerala's reply began poorly as opener Samson was out in the fifth ball of the innings and soon V A Jagadeesh (15) also perished.

    At number three Prem scored a valuable 42 and the following middle-order batsmen also responded well to the call. Fernandez and Gomez carried the side to win after Sachin Baby (29) departed. Fernandez scored 85 off 98 and Gomez 68 off 46. They shared an unbeaten 126-run stand for the fifth wicket.

    Karnataka registered a comprehensive seven-wicket victory over Tamil Nadu in a South Zone leg encounter of the Vijay Hazare National One Day Championship . Opting to bat, Tamil Nadu scored a competitive 250 for eight, which Karnataka batsmen chased down comfortably in 45.2 overs, losing just three wickets in the process. Tamil Nadu did not have an ideal start and they were reeling at 84 for four at one stage, but Dinesh Karthik (84) and Vijay Shankar (59) came to the team's rescue.

    The duo consolidated the innings, putting on a 142-run stand for the fifth wicket to take the score past 200-run mark. When Shankar finally fell, after playing a valuable knock that came off 73 balls, laced with two fours and a six, Tamil Nadu were in control at 227 for five. Karthik, was however quick to join his partner in the dressing room. His 87-ball 84 included four hits to the fence and three sixes.

    Thereafter none of the batsmen could make an impression. For Karnataka, Abhimanyu Mithun was the pick of the bowlers with figures of three for 49, while HS Sharath (2/45) and Stuart Binny (2/56) chipped in with two wickets each. In reply, Karnataka always looked in total control even as the TN bowlers looked lacklustre.

    Manish Pandey (81) and Karun Nair (64) scored half-century each, besides sharing an unbeaten 123-run partnership for the fourth wicket to reach 252 for three with 28 balls to spare. Opener Robin Uthappa (49) and Ganesh Satish (35) also contributed with the bat.