Quick Links



    MP govt announces winners of state awards

    Bhopal: Madhya Pradesh Culture and Public Relations Minister Laxmikant Sharma on Wednesday announced the winners of the prestigious awards in different categories for the year 2008-09 given by the state.

    The Kalidas Samman for Rupankar Kala (Clay Art) will be given to Jairam Patel of Gujarat, while the same award in the category of classical dance and music will be bestowed upon Guru Kalamandlam Gopi of Kerala and Pandit Channulal Sharma of Banaras Gharana respectively, Sharma said.

    Similarly, the Maithlisharan Gupt Award for Literature will be awarded to Ramesh Chandra Shah of Bhopal, while the Tulsi Samman for Lok Kala (Folk Art-Men) will be given to Chennai's Rangaswami Vedar.

    National Iqbal Samman for Urdu will be given to New Delhi's Gopichand Narang, while the National Devi Ahilyabai Award for Folk Arts will be awarded to Rajasthan's famous Kalbelia dancer, Gulabo.

    Noted satirist, KP Saxena of Lucknow will be honoured with the Sharad Joshi Award, while the Kumar Gandharv Award will be conferred on famous vocalist, Pandit Sanjeev Abhyankar.

    The Kalidas Award for Rupankar Kala (Clay Art) for the year 2009-10 will be given to Mathura's Krishna Kanhai.

    While the Kumar Gandharv Award carries a cash reward of Rs 1.25 lakh, other honours carry a cash prize of Rs two lakh each.

    These awards will be given in a grand function at Bhopal, and its date will be announced later, the Minister said.