Quick Links



    Sahabuddin shines in Andhra's win over TN

    Margao: Syed Sahabuddin led an impressive bowling effort claiming four wickets as Andhra overcame Tamil Nadu by seven runs in a keenly-contested Vijay Hazare Trophy (South Zone) match here on Thursday. Sahabuddin picked up four for 33 as Andhra, after being all out for 228 in 46.2 overs, stopped the hosts at 221 for nine at the Dr Rajendra Prasad Stadium.

    Sent into bat, veteran Amol Muzumdar was the top-scorer for Andhra as he remained unbeaten on 60, which came off as many balls, and with the help of six fours and a six. The top-four Andhra batsmen got off to starts, but none of them could go on to make substantial scores, leaving the task of helping the team go past the 200-mark on Mumbaikar Muzumdar.

    Sunil Sam (3/37) and Rahil Shah (3/54) were the two best bowlers for Tamil Nadu. In reply, Subramaniam Badrinath (53) and Dinesh Karthik (70) batted with purpose and as long as the two were at the crease, Tamil Nadu were in the game.

    But with their dismissal, the task became a bit tough for them. Baba Aparajith tried to take the fight to the opposition camp, but his knock of 30 was not enough to take Tamil Nadu home as Sahabuddin succeeded in giving Andhra breakthroughs at regular intervals.

    Sahabuddin was well supported by Bodavarapu Sudhakar (2/39) and P Vijay Kumar (2/51).