Quick Links



    Sandeep Patil named BCCI selection panel head

    Mumbai: Former India batsman Sandeep Patil has been named head of the national selection committee panel, replacing the outgoing chief of selectors Kris Srikkanth and beating another former team-mate, Mohinder Amarnath, to the post. The decision to name Patil was taken by the BCCI at its AGM in Mumbai on Thursday, and is the most significant change to the five-man panel following the completion of its term. Patil previously coached India, India A, Kenya and Oman, as well as Mumbai Champs in the defunct Indian Cricket League, and also served as the director of the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore. However, he was not believed to be in the reckoning for the post of chairman of selectors – former India fast bowler Roger Binny was widely tipped as the leading candidate - as he had no prior experience of being a selector. Patil, 56, played 29 ODIs and 45 Tests for India. The other candidate for the post of chief of selectors, Amarnath, has been removed after one year as the North Zone selector and replaced by former India and Punjab opener Vikram Rathore amid murmurs of a spat with Srikkanth over the removal of MS Dhoni as India's captain. Rathore has most recently been Punjab and IPL franchise Kings XI Punjab coach. The revamp also saw former India wicketkeeper Saba Karim step into the role of East Zone selector in place of Raja Venkat and Rajinder S Hans take Narendra Hirwani’s place as the representative from Central Zone. Binny was the unanimous choice for South Zone selector. Others in the running for the post of East Zone selector were former India openers Deep Dasgupta and Devang Gandhi as well as former Bengal left-arm spinner Arup Bhattacharya. Chaturvedi’s rival was former UP captain Gyanendra Pandey. Srikanth, Hirwani, Bhave and Venkat had all completed their terms and as per the BCCI rules were not permitted to continue as selectors. Under the previous selection committee, India reached No. 1 in the Test and ODI rankings (albeit briefly in the 50-over format) and won the World Cup in 2011.