Quick Links



    BJP, Left motions on NCTC defeated in Lok Sabha

    New Delhi: The amendments moved by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Left Front, BJD on the controversial National Counter Terrorism Centre (NCTC) issue were defeated in the Lok Sabha on Monday. The division of the vote showed 226 members against the motion, 141 in favour, with one abstaining when the BJP motion was put to vote. The Left motion on NCTC was also defeated in the House with 146 MPs in favour, 227 against and one member abstaining.

    The UPA government was helped by the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the BSP as both the parties abstained from the vote. While the TMC and the BSP abstained, the SP withdrew its amendment on NCTC and voted with the government on BJP's motion. After the President's Address was adopted by the House, Lok Sabha was adjourned till 2.30 pm.

    The opposition led by the BJP's Sushma Swaraj moved an amendment against the NCTC saying that it violates the federal principle and the rights of states. Her statement was echoed by the Left's Basudev Acharya. "Arrogance is getting UPA into trouble often. Let the Home Minister clarify that there will be no decision on NCTC by April 16 before all the doubts raised by chief ministers are cleared. We will then take back our amendments," Swaraj said.

    Trinamool Congress supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said though her party opposed NCTC but did not want to embarrass the government, and so abstained during the vote.