Quick Links



    Nellai all for ruling party

    TIRUNELVELI: AIADMK emerged victorious as the party garnered six out of seven municipalities in Tirunelveli district.It won Ambasamudram, Vikramasingapuram, Sengottai, Tenkasi, Sankarankovil and Puliyangudi. Opposition DMK won only Kadayanallur Municipality.In Ambasamudram municipality, AIADMK candidate Selvi defeated DMK candidate Tamil Selvi by a margin of 1,183 votes. In Vikramasingapuram Municipality, AIADMK candidate Manonmani defeated DMK candidate Rajam John by a margin of 6,169 votes.In Sengottai municipality, AIADMK candidate Mohanakrishnan won by a difference of 1,593 votes over his rival DMK candidate Raheem. In Tenkasi municipality, AIADMK candidate Banu defeated DMK candidate Seethalakshmi by a margin of 2,976 votes. In Sankarankovil municipality, AIADMK candidate Muthuselvi defeated DMK candidate Anbumani by a margin of 8,294 votes. In Puliyangudi municipality, AIADMK candidate Sankarapandi won by a margin of 176 votes over rival DMK candidate Selvakumar. In Kadayanallur municipality, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam candidate Saibun Nisha defeated AIADMK candidate Muthulakshmi by a margin of 2,435 votes.Winner promises corruption-free stintAfter winning the mayoral elections for the Tirunelveli Corporation, AIADMK candidate Vijila Satyanand on Friday promised to provide clean and corruption-free governance in the city.atyanand secured 80,265 votes and won by a margin of 24,584 votes. Her rival and DMK candidate S Amutha secured 55,681 votes. Counting of votes was held at the Government Engineering College here. Addressing reporters after receiving her certificate of election from Ajay Yadav, Election Officer and Commissioner of Tirunelveli Corporation, Satyanand said the AIADMK would provide clean and corruption-free governance.“The party will work towards a permanent solution to water shortage problem that persist in the corporation limits,” she assured. The State government’s welfare measures will be meticulously implemented in the corporation limits, she added.Tirunelveli MLA Nainar Nagendran expressed gratitude to the people for choosing the AIADMK and said it showed that the people reposed faith in the AIADMK as well as in the good governance of the Chief Minister. He added that the major issues, including drinking water supply and traffic congestion in the city, will be addressed. Meanwhile, An independent candidate for the mayor’s post, Asan Fathu surprised all by emerging third place. While AIADMK’s Vijila Satyanand stood first, Amutha of DMK stood second. Asan garnered 11,587 votes -- it is more than what many candidates from bigger national parties fetched.