Quick Links



    South Africa beat Sri Lanka by 22 runs in 2nd T20

    Hambantota: Seam bowlers Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Morne Morkel took two wickets each on Sunday to propel South Africa to a 22-run win over Sri Lanka in the second Twenty20 match for an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

    Batting first after winning the toss, South Africa made a competitive 145 for 6 and then restricted the hosts to 123 for 7. David Miller made 36 off 21 deliveries and won the man-of-the-match award. Tsotsobe gave South Africa an ideal start with the ball, dismissing Mahela Jayawardene (6) and Dinesh Chandimal (2) early to leave Sri Lanka on 27 for 2.

    Kumar Sangakkara top-scored for Sri Lanka with 39 off 35 deliveries, including four boundaries. Jayawardene edged a good-length ball to wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, while captain Chandimal slashed at a delivery to also be caught by De Kock.

    Kusal Perera showed promise by making 21 off 22 deliveries, but was trapped lbw trying to reverse sweep legspinner Imran Tahir.

    The hosts lost Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews and Sangakkara in the space of five runs to slump to 90 for 6. Tsotsobe returned with 2 for 17, while Morkel had 2 for 34.

    Earlier, Miller, batting at No. 6, hit two sixes and a boundary. JP Duminy made 30 off 23 deliveries. Spinner Sachithra Senanayake and seam bowler Nuwan Kulasekara picked up two wickets each for the hosts.

    Sri Lanka won the first game on Friday by 12 runs. The third match will be played in Hambantota on Tuesday.