Quick Links



    South Africa Women allowed change in World Cup squad

    Cuttack: The South African Women cricket team have been allowed to replace Dinesha Devnarain with Sune Luus by the ICC's Event Technical Committee for the ongoing World Cup here. "The ICC has confirmed the Event Technical Committee of the ICC Women's World Cup India 2013 has approved Sun Luus as a replacement player for Dinesha Devnarain in the South Africa squad for the tournament," the governing body said in a statement.

    The confirmation was conveyed to Cricket South Africa on behalf of the committee. Luus has replaced Devnarain who has had to return to South Africa for personal reasons and is unable to compete in the event. Any injury or illness-based replacement requires a written submission to the event technical committee along with a diagnosis from a medical practitioner as to the extent of the injury or illness.

    Once replaced, a player may not return to the squad save as an approved subsequent replacement for another injured or ill player. Luus is 17-years-old and has represented South Africa Women in two ODIs and represents Northerns Women when playing domestic cricket.

    She is a right-handed batter and a legbreak spinner from Pretoria and replaces Devnarain who is a right-handed batter and right-arm medium-pacer.

    The Event Technical Committee of the ICC Women's World Cup consists of Geoff Allardice (ICC, chairman), Suru Nayak (host representative), Campbell Jamieson (IDI representative), Anjali Pendharkar (host representative), Alan Wilkins (independent nomination) and Melanie Jones (independent nomination).