Quick Links



    Sri Lanka Premier League to begin from Aug 10

    Colombo: The inaugural season of the much-awaited Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL), a Twenty20 tournament on the lines of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), will be played from August 10 to 31.

    All the matches will take place at the Premadasa stadium here and at the Pallekele stadium in the central district of Kandy, the Sri Lanka Cricket announced on Thursday. "International players will be playing in the SLPL alongside Sri Lankan national cricketers and young Lankan hopefuls," SLC said.

    The first edition of the SLPL will feature seven provincial teams which will adhere to a compulsory ruling of including only six overseas players to their squad. However, it will be mandatory for each team to field only four overseas players in the playing eleven, while the remaining seven players will all be Sri Lankans. And one player out of the said seven players will be an under-21 player.

    The SLPL was supposed to kick off last year, with SLC's then interim committee signing a five-year deal with the Singapore-based Somerset Entertainment Ventures to organise the event. However, the SLC was forced to postpone the event after the BCCI refused to allow its cricketers to participate in the SLPL fearing a suspected link between the sponsors and Lalit Modi, the former IPL commissioner.

    However, the SLC officials are now confident of the participation of Indian and Pakistani players. The teams will be Basnahira (Western) Bears, Kandurata (central hill) Kites, Nagenahira (eastern) Nagas, Ruhuna (southern) Rhinos, Uthura (north) Oryxes, Uva (south eastern) Unicorns, Wayamba (north central) Wolves.