Quick Links



    Sri Lankan players' IPL 6 participation remains doubtful

    New Delhi: The participation of Sri Lankan players in the sixth season of the Indian Premier League remains doubtful, according to reports on Tuesday. It has been reported that the Tamil Nadu government has opposed the presence of Sri Lankan cricketers in the high profile league starting April 3.

    Chennai Super Kings, who have Nuwan Kulasekara and Akila Dhananjaya in their squad, are waiting for the government and the BCCI's decision before making a final call on their players' participation.

    However, IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla was unaware of the development. "No concerns shared with us as of now. Decision on players totally of the franchisees. Things to go as per schedule. Report sought from Chennai police is part of the routine process," he said.

    The trouble began when Karunanidhi, a big political leader in Tamil Nadu, broke away from the central government opposing its polices on Sri Lanka. Ever since there has been a doubt over Chennai hosting the matches and Sri Lankan players' participation.

    Apart from the CSK duo, other Sri Lankan players featuring in IPL 6 are:

    Jeevan Mendis (Delhi Daredevils)

    Sachithra Senanayake (Kolkata Knight Riders)

    Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

    Ajantha Mendis and Angelo Mathews (Pune Warriors)

    Kushal Janith Perera (Rajasthan Royals)

    Muttiah Muralitharan and Tillakaratne Dilshan (Royal Challengers)

    Thisara Perera (Sunrisers Hyderabad)