Quick Links



    Suryakant Pradhan seven-wicket haul helps Odisha crush Jharkhand

    Kolkata: Pacer Suryakant Pradhan ran through the Jharkhand battting order with a brilliant seven-wicket haul as Odisha crushed Jharkhand by 235 runs in their East Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare One-Day Championship match here on Friday.

    Pradhan's impressive show came after his batting colleagues Paresh Patel (126) and Arabind Singh (132) smashed a century each as Odisha posted a massive 353 for four wickets after being sent into bat Jadavpur University Complex.

    Chasing 354 for a win, Jharkhand slumped to 43 for eight in the 13th over with seven of their batsmen having been dismissed by Pradhan.

    Only two Jharkhand batsmen could reach double figures with number nine Rahul Shukla making 50 from 55 balls while number 10 Jaskaran Singh scoring 23 from 38 balls. Both fell to Odisha captain Biplab Samantray (2/5). Earlier, Paresh Patel and Arabind Singh shared 114 runs for the second wicket to lay the foundation of a huge score.

    Samantray contributed 37 not out while Govind Podder scored 26. For Jharkhand, Rahul Shukla grabbed two wickets for 76 while Ajay Yadav and Jaskaran Singh got a wicket apiece. Odisha grabbed five points from the win, including a bonus point, while Jharkhand got minus one.