Quick Links



    Third time's a charm: India record first hat-trick against Australia

    New Delhi: By beating Australia by six wickets on day five in Mohali on Monday, India not only reclaimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy but also achieved a new high - victory by 3-0 over the Australians. Never in the history of India v Australia Test series had the former ever won by such a huge margin. It marked a new low for Australia, who were outclassed in all three Tests.

    In 23 prior series, India had beaten Australia six times - all at home. Their best margin of victory was 2-0, achieved in the two-Test series in 2010; this was because they did not lose or draw any match in the series. Prior to that, all of India's series wins bar one were by 2-0 margins.

    India's first Test series win over Australia came in 1979-80, when they Kim Hughes' depleted side 2-0 in a six-match contest. Their next was in 1996 when they won a one-off Test in Delhi. Two years later, Mohammad Azharuddin's team beat Australia 2-1. India's next win over Australia was the epic series of 2001, which was one 2-1 after defeat in the first Test in Mumbai. Australia's last two visits to India in 2008 (four Tests) and 2010 (two Tests) resulted in 2-0 series wins to India.

    The two teams now travel to Delhi for the fourth and final Test at the Feroz Shah Kotla, a venue where spin has dominated numerous times in the past, with a 4-0 whitewash a clear possibility. India have never beaten any team by that margin. History could be made.

    Do you think India can whitewash Australia in Delhi??