Quick Links



    Three debutants in Australia's top order for ODI

    Melbourne: Debutants will fill the top three batting spots for Australia in Friday's one-day international (ODI) series-opener against Sri Lanka at the MCG.

    Captain George Bailey confirmed on Thursday that Victoria's Aaron Finch and Test No.3 Phil Hughes will open the batting, with stylish NSW left-hander Usman Khawaja to bat at No.3.

    Bailey, who has only 13 ODIs to his name, will come in at No.4 in an inexperienced batting line-up that also includes four-game allrounder Glenn Maxwell.

    David Hussey and Brad Haddin will add some experience to the middle order. The selectors resisted naming a fourth debutant, leaving Queensland quick Ben Cutting out of the bowling attack.

    It leaves Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay to fill the pace spots with Xavier Doherty the specialist spinner, supported by Maxwell and Hussey.

    Team: George Bailey (capt), Aaron Finch, Phil Hughes, Usman Khawaja, David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin, Clint McKay, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty, Steve Smith (12th man).