Quick Links



    Vijay Hazare: Mumbai, Delhi register wins

    Hosts Mumbai kicked off their campaign in the West Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy by defeating Baroda by four wickets in a low-scoring game at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

    Put in to bat on a slow track, Baroda struggled and were shot out for 183 in 49.3 overs, which was successfully chased by Mumbai with four overs to spare. Ambati Rayudu's 69 off 103 balls propped up the Baroda innings while the next best effort was from Yusuf Pathan who made a slow 30 off 54 balls.

    Ankit Chavan scalped three wickets, while new skipper Ajit Agarkar and fellow seamer Dhawal Kulkarni grabbed two wickets each for Mumbai. Wicketkeeper Sushant Marathe, back in action after recovering from his groin injury sustained during the early phase of the Ranji Trophy season, top-scored for Mumbai with 55. Men-in-form Suryakumar Yadav and Abhishek Nayar contributed with identical scores of 38, with the former remaining unbeaten as Mumbai reached the target fairly comfortably.

    Brief Scores: Baroda 183 all out in 49.3 overs (Ambati Rayudu 69, Yusuf Pathan 30; Ankit Chavan 3/23, Ajit Agarkar 2/23, Dhawal Kulkarni 2/46); Mumbai 186 for 6 in 46 overs (Sushant Marathe 55, Suryakumar Yadav 38 not out, Abhishek Nayar 38)

    Delhi thrash Punjab by 135 runs to earn a bonus point

    At New Delhi, a solid all-round performance by Delhi helped them wallop Punjab by 135 runs and earn their second successive victory in the North Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Wednesday.

    The resounding victory also earned the hosts their second bonus point in the tournament and they now lead the table with 10 points from two matches.

    After posting 265 for five in 50 overs, Delhi bowlers never let the opposition batsmen get off the hook, bowling them out for 130 in just 32 overs. It was also a battle between two out-of-favour veterans - Delhi's Ashish Nehra and Punjab's Harbhajan Singh.

    They didn't exactly set the stage on fire but Nehra (1/37) bowled at a brisk pace during his eight overs. The Punjab batsmen were never at ease facing Nehra. Punjab skipper Harbhajan, on the other hand, gave away only 38 runs in his 10-over spell. What the figures won't tell is that he didn't attack the batsmen much. He bowled flat without flighting the ball much in his bid to contain the batsmen rather than trying to buy wickets.

    A well-paced innings by Punit Bisht (73 off 81 balls) and a blitzkrieg by skipper Rajat Bhatia (60 not out off 38 balls) propelled Delhi to a challenging score. The home side scored 108 runs in the last 10 overs of their innings. A patient knock (60 off 104 balls) by former captain Mithun Manhas and his 111-run stand for the third wicket with Bisht laid the foundation for a good score.

    Brief Scores: Delhi 265 (Punit Bist 73, Rajat Bhatia 60 no, Yogesh Nagar 60, Barinder Singh 2/72, Harbhajan Singh 0/38); Punjab 130 all out in 32 overs (Harbhajan Singh 36, Bipul Sharma 25, Parvinder Awana 3/27, Varun Sood 3/4).

    Jadhav's quickfire ton powers Maharashtra's win over Gujarat

    At Mumbai, a hurricane century by Kedar Jadhav helped Maharashtra start their campaign on a winning note as they defeated Gujarat by 43 runs in the West Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

    Chasing a mammoth 331 in their 50 overs at the Mumbai Cricket Association's BKC Stadium here, Gujarat, despite the heroics of opener Priyank Panchal, who scored a brilliant 129 (117 balls), were bowled out for 287 in the 46th over.

    Jadhav remained unbeaten on 107 which came off in just 68 balls. Jadhav, in the company of Nikhil Paradkar (87 not out off 70 balls) rescued Maharashtra from a precarious 131-4 and added 199 runs in 22.2 overs. Jadhav's breath-taking innings was studded with ten fours and four sixes.

    Earlier, skipper Rohit Motwani 71 (79 balls) and Ankit Bawne 52 (76 balls) added 125 runs for the third wicket after Maharashtra, electing to bat first, began horribly, losing both their openers within three overs with just six runs on the board.

    Gujarat, too, began their innings on a poor note as they lost hard-hittng batsman Asad Pathan (8) and wicketkeeper batsman Avi Barot (6) by the fifth over.

    However, Panchal first stabilised the innings in the company of Manpreet Juneja (20) and then launched a counter-attack, along with skipper Niraj Patel, who made a belligerent 64 off just 53 balls.

    Brief scores: Maharashtra 330-4 in 50 overs (Kedar Jadhav 107 not out, Nikhil Paradkar 87 not out, Rohit Motwani 71, Ankit Bawne 52; Amit Singh 2-60); Gujarat 287 all out in 45.2 overs (Priyank Panchal 129, Niraj Patel 64; Samad Fallah 4-48)

    Jharkhand beat Tripura by three wickets

    At Kolkata, defending champions Jharkhand rode on an unbeaten half-century by Deepak Chougule to script a three-wicket win over Tripura in their East Zone leg one-dayer of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

    Opting to bowl, Jharkhand restricted minnows Tripura to 236 for nine in the stipulated 50 overs. Opener Samrat Singha (66 off 104 balls) was Tripura's top scorer, while Nirupam Sen Chowdhury provided the support with a 77-ball 50. Tripura had Jharkhand at 44/3 when their skipper Saurabh Tiwary was dismissed cheaply for 10.

    Jharkhand, however, did not give up with a defiant 63 (76 balls) by Ishank Jaggi, while Deepak Chougule ensured victory with an entertaining 54-ball 55.

    Brief Scores: Tripura 236/9 in 50 overs (Samrat Singha 66, Nirupam Sen Chowdhary 50, Rahul Shukla 2/40, Yajuvendra Krishanatry 2/53, Jaskaran Singh 2/34); Jharkhand 238/7; 49.2 overs (Ishank Jaggi 63, Deepak Chougule 55 not out; Rana Dutta 4/47)

    Assam beat Odisha by six wickets

    At Kolkata, Assam thrashed Odisha by six wickets to record their second consecutive victory and in the East Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at Eden Gardens.

    Veteran left-handed opener Dheeraj Jadhav, who struck a defiant 77, was once again the architect of Assam's win as they chased a target of 259 with 28 balls to spare.

    Jadhav played a patient 101-ball 77, while Sibsankar Roy extended a fine support with a quickfire 58-ball 56 as the former Maharahstra captain anchored the innings with crucial partnerships in the middle. Rajagopal Sathish slammed a quickfire 44 not out from 28 balls (6x4, 2x6) to steer Assam home.

    Put in to bat, Odisha recovered from a struggling start with Govind Poddar striking a fluent 121-ball 136, studded with four sixes and 12 fours. Skipper Biblap Samantray (43 off 57 balls) gave Poddar a fine support as the duo put on 107 runs after being reduced to 46/3 in the 15th over. Assam, however, did well to fight back with offie Gokul Sharma scalping four as they bundled out Odisha for 259 on the last ball of the innings. Assam now have nine points from two matches and are at the top of the table.

    Brief Scores: Odisha 258 all out in 50 overs (Govind Poddar 136, Biplab Samantray 43; Gokul Sharma 4/31); Assam: 260/4 in 45.2 overs (Dheeraj Jadhav 77, Sibsankar Roy 56, Rajagopal Sathish 44 not out)