Quick Links



    Vijay stars with big ton as India B emerge champions

    Rajkot: Murali Vijay (155) scored a superb hundred and shared a 192-run stand with Cheteshwar Pujara (79) as India B walloped India A by 139 runs to emerge champions in the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy tournament, here on Tuesday.

    Electing to bat, India B scored a mammoth 356 for six and then bundled out India A for 217 in 42.1 overs to claim the winners trophy at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium.

    India A fought through in-form batsmen in Shikhar Dhawan (61) and Ajinkya Rahane (64) but their middle-order let them down while chasing a huge target.

    Rising young all-rounder Baba Aparajith scalped both Dhawan and Rahane and with that India A's challenge ended.

    Only Manish Pandey (47) and Abhimanyu Mithun (24) played some good knocks but that only reduced the defeat margin.

    Stuart Binny was the most successful bowler for India B with three wickets at the cost of just 26 runs.

    India B batsmen took full advantage of the flat track as they sent the rival bowlers on leather-hunt.

    Not only Vijay and skipper Puajara wielded their willows tremendously but Kedhar Jadhav also excelled by scoring an unbeaten knock of 60 runs.

    Jadhav's knock provided finishing touches to their innings as he rattled up a quick and unconquered 79-run stand for the fourth wicket with Ravindra Jadeja (25).

    Pravinder Awana and Abhimanyu Mithun proved very costly for India A as they leaked 79 runs each in their 10 overs quota.

    It was Vijay who set the foundation for the big score with his tremendous batting right from the start of their innings. Vijay paced his innings well as he took 121 balls for his 155, studded with 23 boundaries including five shots over the fence.

    Pujara, who scored two centuries before coming into the final, carried on with his good form in the summit clash. His 80-ball knock was laced with eight boundaries.

    India B raced to 66 for none in 10 overs with under-19 star World Cup find Baba Aparajith (18) supporting Vijay well.

    Pragyan Ojha broke the stand by having Aparajith caught by Ajinkya Rahane in the 11th over. However India A bowlers toiled hard for the next 26 overs as Vijay and Pujara batted them out of the match.

    Brief Scores:

    India B: 356 for 6 in 50 overs. (M Vijay 155, C Pujara 79; P Ojha 1/64).

    India A: 217 all out in 42.1 overs. (A Rahane 64, S Dhawan 61; B Aparajith 2/38, S Binny 3/26).