Quick Links



    Vijay Zol to lead India at ICC U-19 World Cup

    Vijay Zol has been named as India captain for the ICC Under 19 World Cup starting in the United Arab Emirates on February 15.

    Zol also led India to junior Asia Cup title recently. The Maharashtra batsman was also part of the Unmukt Chand-led team that lifted the cup last time.

    The All-India Junior Selection Committee met here to select the Indian team for the big event.

    Sanju Samson, the Kerala wicketkeeper batsman, has also been selected in the 15-man squad.

    The three-time champions, India have been clubbed with Pakistan, Scotland and Papua New Guinea in Group A. India will open their campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on February 15 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

    India won the U-19 World Cup title in 2000, 2008 and 2012.

    India's squad for U-19 World Cup: Vijay Zol(capt), Akhil Herwadkar, Ankush Bains, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav, Amir Gani, Karan Kaila, CV Milind, Avesh Khan, Monu Kumar Singh, Atit Seth

    (With PTI inputs)