CricketNext GET APP

Virat Kohli Named ICC Test and ODI Team Captain

Cricketnext | Updated: January 18, 2018, 1:47 PM IST
Virat Kohli Named ICC Test and ODI Team Captain

Getty Images

New Delhi: Virat Kohli, for the past few years has been epitome of consistency in whatever format he plays. In 65 Tests he has amassed 5,459 runs, to go with 9,030 runs in ODIs. Since he has taken over the captaincy in all the formats, the Indian team has scaled new heights.

Under Kohli, India has a winning rate of 58.82%, while in ODIs it's 78.87%. In a nutshell, he has emerged as one of the finest leaders in cricket. ICC too recognised his achievements and named him as the skipper of both, Test team of the year and ODI team of the year. Earlier, Kohli had won the ICC cricketer of the year, and ICC ODI player of the year awards.

The other Indians to feature in the list are Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah in the ODIs, and Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin in the Tests. ICC tweeted both the teams.

ICC ODI Team: David Warner (Australia), Rohit Sharma (India), Virat Kohli (captain) (India), Babar Azam (Pakistan), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper) (South Africa), Ben Stokes (England), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Hasan Ali (Pakistan), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jasprit Bumrah (India).

ICC Test Team: Dean Elgar (South Africa), David Warner (Australia) Virat Kohli (India), Steve Smith (Australia), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Ben Stokes (England), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper) (South Africa), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), James Anderson (England).

First Published: January 18, 2018, 12:11 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking