New Delhi: It seems like luck has completely deserted India skipper Virat Kohli and his side in the ongoing Test series between India and Australia.
On the third day of the second Test in Bengaluru, Virat Kohli was adjudged LBW to Josh Hazlewood for 12, but not before Kohli's nemesis — the DRS — played its role.
Hazlewood's in-cutter thudded into Kohli's pads, but there was a hint of a second sound which suggested the Indian captain might have nicked it. But the big question was whether the ball hit the pad first or was it an inside edge onto the pad? On-field umpire Nigel Llong immediately gave Kohli out and the India skipper instantly challenged the call, bring the DRS into the equation.
But after looking at the replays for more than five minutes and from all possible available angles, the third umpire couldn't find a 'conclusive evidence that the ball hit the bat first' and went with the on-field umpire's call. A furious Kohli walked back to the dressing room and was seen shaking his head even after next man Ravindra Jadeja had taken guard.
Even BCCI took the opportunity to ask cricket fans if the Indian skipper was unfortunate to be given out.
The post from BCCI on Twitter read: OUT or NOT OUT ? Richard Kettleborough thought it was out. What do you think ? #Virat
— BCCI (@BCCI) March 6, 2017
Even Cricket Australia brought the matter up on its social media site, calling the decision a really close one. The post read: It doesn't get much tighter than that! Kohli gone... #INDvAUS
— cricket.com.au (@CricketAus) March 6, 2017
Kohli was dismissed cheaply for the fourth time in the series and he was clearly not happy with the way he was given out. But as they say, the umpire's call is final in the gentleman's game.