Virender Sehwag not in 30 Champions Trophy probables; Unmukt, Rasool named

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: April 6, 2013, 11:26 AM IST
Virender Sehwag not in 30 Champions Trophy probables; Unmukt, Rasool named

New Delhi: The BCCI on Saturday bit the bullet and dropped Virender Sehwag from the list of 30 probables, while calling up Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand and J&K allrounder Parvez Rasool for the ICC Champions Trophy to be held in England after the ongoing Indian Premier League.

Sehwag, who is struggling to find form and is also currently sitting injured on the Delhi Daredevils bench, was also dropped from the last two Tests of the series against Australia at home that India won 4-0. Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan's century on his debut Test in Mohali has put him in the reckoning to return to the ODI squad.

Among the notable domestic performers getting a call-up for the camp are under-19 World Cup-winning captain Chand and Rasool who took seven Australian wickets for the Board President's XI. Also called up for their good domestic showing are Maharashtra batsman Kedar Jadhav, Madhya Pradesh allrounder Jalaj Saxena and medium pacer Ishwar Pandey, and Punjab medium pacer Siddarth Kaul.

Umesh Yadav, who is making a return from injury in the IPL, has also been named in the 30-man list alongside legspinner Amit Mishra who too gets a chance to make a comeback. Praveen Kumar, who was reprimanded for abuse in a domestic match, also gets a chance to impress the selectors once again.

Apart from Sehwag, the in-form Cheteshwar Pujara Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan are the other notable absentees on the list. Probably the BCCI wants Pujara to concentrate on Tests before appearing in the limited-overs formats and have seen the last of Harbhajan and Zaheer, at least in ODIs and T20s.


MS Dhoni, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, R AShwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Ishant Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, IC Pandey, Siddarth Kaul, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra

First Published: April 6, 2013, 11:26 AM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking